Thursday, March 3, 2016

Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Bloomsbury (April 5, 2016)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control. 








Emery Lord is just one of those authors that you know her books are going to be meaningful and fun. With her mixed in humor along with the serious and sometimes tender moments, and you always have a winner and her latest release didn't veer off that path at all. 

Heartfelt, funny, and tackling some pretty serious issues, Lord's pulled it off wonderfully. 

I completely fell in love with the Daniel's, every single one of them and Vivi too. Their wonderfulness, their struggles, pain, toughness, goodness, oh my heart this book brought out the feel in all the best possible ways.

It melted me into a giant puddle of goo, crushed my heart, fixed me back up and then started all over again. 

I can't even begin how refreshing this read was. It handles some very difficult situations and things so beautifully, so realistically that it is hard to explain other than it is something you need to experience and feel for yourself. 

I'm so happy I picked this up when I did because it was exactly what I needed and reminded me all over again why I feel in love with this author and this genre. 





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

42 comments:

  1. So happy to see a review for this one finally. Also happy you enjoyed it!! I am really excited to pick this up when it comes out. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Tackling tough issues can be so difficult in ya. I'm glad she did it so seamlessly. Great review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They really can and she did handle it great, thanks Tyler!

      Delete
  3. I'm really happy to see such a raving review from you for this one, Ali. I wasn't initially going to pick it up because I had heard of the ending, but it's Emery Lord and I've loved her 2 previous books, so I HAD to read this one. I'm excited to meet the Daniels now! :)
    Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It isn't your typical HEA but it was a nice ending and it did fit the story if that helps Nick.

      Delete
  4. I can't wait to read this book! I love Lord's first book, Open Road Summer, but wasn't too crazy about her second so I'm excited to see if I'll love this one.

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I still need to read Open Road, hopefully sometimes soon. ;)

      Delete
  5. Great review! I'm glad you enjoyed it and it was so refreshing. I really love when books handle difficult situations well and it's realistic. I was only Mildly interested in this one before, but now I'm really interested! :) Thanks for the fantastic review Ali!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can't wait to read this Ali! Emery Lord is an auto-buy author for me for sure, and I'm so glad you felt the issues in this book were handled realistically and believably. So excited!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jenny and I hope you love it!

      Delete
  7. Glad to hear you enjoyed this. I want to read more contemporary's this year, and this seems like a great candidate!
    Tori @InToriLex

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is emotional so just be prepared for that. ;)

      Delete
  8. I didnt' know she already had another one out. This sounds like a great read. I am glad you shared this today.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm looking forward to reading this one, even though I haven't gotten to The Start of Me and You yet. It's on my TBR Pile Challenge, so I hope to read it soon. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked that one and hopefully you will too. ;)

      Delete
  10. I'm really looking forward to reading this one, but I'm afraid of the ripping my heart out emotion.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is emotional and it will more than likely make you cry but it is worth it. ;)

      Delete
  11. I do respond to books like this over the angsty dramatic ones. It sounds touching! I will have to check this author out, Spring is coming and books like this is perfect for the warmer seasons

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, I always love these in spring and summer. ;)

      Delete
  12. Oh this sounds good! I hadn't heard anything about it yet and now I want it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You would like this one Candace for sure. ;)

      Delete
  13. Glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I haven't read anything by Lord yet, but this one does sound good. Plus, I think she's coming near me for a signing and I want to go!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh that would be so much fun Lauren, I hope you can go!

      Delete
  14. Well you sold me, I just went to Net Galley and requested it. Of course I might not get it. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really hope you get it, I'll keep my fingers crossed and yay! I hope you love it!

      Delete
  15. You had me at "stand alone" ;)! Great review Ali!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love how realistic this sounds Ali

    ReplyDelete
  17. I always appreciate a little humor added in to my serious one. Sounds like quite the read, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do as well, it is nice and does lighten them up.

      Delete
  18. Okay. I'm really hoping for the best with this one. I didn't quite enjoy her previous book, so I'm hoping I'll love When We Collided. *fingers crossed*

    ReplyDelete
  19. Ah, gimme this book! Gimme, gimme!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I haven't even read anything from this author but you make me want to pick up her whole collection.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Whilst I don't typically read from the YA Contemporary genre, When We Collided does sound like a wonderfully gripping tale. I'm also happy to hear that the author's success in this book has enamored you once more :)

    ReplyDelete