Monday, December 17, 2018

Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Series: Book One
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published By: Bloomsbury (January 29, 2019)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 5 Stars!



Book Description:
In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 


A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.









I adore Brigid Kemmerer's writing. She always has a unique flare unlike any other in any genre or sub-genre she writes and that makes her one of my most anticipated authors for each new release.

When I saw a twist on a classic fairytale we have all heard and many, me included, love, I was All. In. 

This was so riveting. I was hooked from the very first dark chapter and was eager to know more as the story and the tale slowly unfolded. I loved Emberfall! The mystery, the legends, the lore, the curse. So dark and delicious and yet so alluring. 

I truly couldn't get enough. And let's talk about that ending! I am so very excited that this tale, this story, isn't over. That we will be getting a sequel and from one of my most favorite characters no less. I truly am so pleased with the way Kemmerer twisted and turned this tale into something completely unique and all her own. 

I will be eagerly awaiting the next release. 





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

Monday, December 10, 2018

Review: Evermore by Sara Holland

Title: Evermore
Author: Sara Holland
Series: Book Two in the Everless Series
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published By: HarperTeen (December 31, 2018)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 5 Stars!


Book Description:
The highly anticipated sequel to New York Times bestseller, Everless! 

Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: not only are the stories true, but she herself is the Alchemist, and Caro—a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules’s first love, Roan, in cold blood—is the Sorceress.


The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Jules must delve into the stories that she now recognizes are accounts of her own past. For it is only by piecing together the mysteries of her lives that Jules will be able to save the person who has captured her own heart in this one.






Not only was I pleasantly surprised by Everless, the first book in the series but it took my breath away. It was captivating, imaginative and unlike others in the genre. In short, it was hard to put down and even harder to forget about. Which is why when Evermore came out I couldn't wait to sink back into the world that Holland had created.

Evermore picks up right where Everless left off, with Jules in mortal peril and reeling from all that she not only learned about her beloved Everless but about herself and those around her as well. 

Fast paced, action packed and just a hint of romance combined with danger and deceit around every corner and Evermore lived up to Everless and more. This is no sophomore slump and proves that Holland knows what she is doing.

Ever bit as captivating and irresistible as Everless, Evermore once again left me eagerly turning the pages devouring every last sentence and being left wanting more.





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Release Day Review: Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

Title: Once Upon a River
Author: Diane Setterfield
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: Fantasy/Folklore
Published By: Atria (December 4, 2018)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 4 Stars



Book Description:
A dark midwinter’s night in an ancient inn on the Thames. The regulars are entertaining themselves by telling stories when the door bursts open on an injured stranger. In his arms is the drowned corpse of a little child.

Hours later the dead girl stirs, takes a breath and returns to life.

Is it a miracle?

Is it magic?

Or can it be explained by science?


Replete with folklore, suspense and romance, as well as with the urgent scientific curiosity of the Darwinian age, Once Upon a River is as richly atmospheric as Setterfield’s bestseller The Thirteenth Tale. 










Beautifully written and executed, Once Upon a River feels like an old timey classic told through an imaginative narrative that immediately grabs your attention and refuses to let go. 

Filled with magic and wonder, romance and adventure, all beautifully rich in detail and lore, this is very much the Setterfield from The Thirteenth Tale that we all know and fell in love with. 

Filled with intricate twists and turns and mystery that will keep you guessing, this will keep you eagerly turning the pages as you are caught up in the magic and beauty of it all as it slowly unfolds page after page. 






*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*



Monday, December 3, 2018

Review: The Kiss Collector by Wendy Higgins

Title: The Kiss Collector
Author: Wendy Higgins
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: YA Contemporary
Published By: HarperTeen (December 18, 2018)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 4.5 Stars!


Book Description:
When seventeen-year-old Zae Monroe gets cheated on by the only guy she’s ever loved, then watches her parents' marriage crumble, she decides to forget about relationships and turn the tables on the boys of the world. It’s time to take what she wants, and what she wants are kisses. Athletes, musicians, poets, and bad boys—their lips are all on her agenda, and it's time to collect. 


Zae proposes a contest with her friends to see who can kiss the most boys during spring break. But what starts as a harmless competition leads to a downward spiral she can’t seem to break free of. As family, academic, friend, and guy drama come to a head, Zae is forced to face the reasons behind her boy angst, and starts to wonder if she was wrong about the male race...or at least some of them.










The Kiss Collector is so much more than your average YA contemporary. So much more.

It is emotional and honest and a bit raw. It has diversity and real life problems but most importantly, it's empowering. It's all about family and friends and being supportive of one another, in short, girl power in almost every sense of the phrase. 

It truly is an amazing read that I just can't praise enough. I loved every single heartfelt, emotionally charged and sometimes even funny page. It was a breath of fresh air in a sea of overrated contemporaries that pale in comparison. 







*All thoughts and opinions are my own and weren't influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*