Monday, December 17, 2018

Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Title: A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Series: Book One
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published By: Bloomsbury (January 29, 2019)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 5 Stars!



Book Description:
In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 


A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.









I adore Brigid Kemmerer's writing. She always has a unique flare unlike any other in any genre or sub-genre she writes and that makes her one of my most anticipated authors for each new release.

When I saw a twist on a classic fairytale we have all heard and many, me included, love, I was All. In. 

This was so riveting. I was hooked from the very first dark chapter and was eager to know more as the story and the tale slowly unfolded. I loved Emberfall! The mystery, the legends, the lore, the curse. So dark and delicious and yet so alluring. 

I truly couldn't get enough. And let's talk about that ending! I am so very excited that this tale, this story, isn't over. That we will be getting a sequel and from one of my most favorite characters no less. I truly am so pleased with the way Kemmerer twisted and turned this tale into something completely unique and all her own. 

I will be eagerly awaiting the next release. 





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

36 comments:

  1. Ooo I've been waiting to see how this reviews. I love B&B retellings and yep..I must grab this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was so good Kim, I think you would like it too.

      Delete
  2. I enjoy a good fairy tale retelling.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've seen mixed reviews for this one but for the most part people are excited for the sequel. I'm curious though will the sequel be a companion novel or a continuation of the two protagonists' story??

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think more a companion and a continuation. I believe it will be another characters story but it will still interact with this one if that makes sense.

      Delete
    2. Makes sense, thank you for letting me know! I just wanted to make sure this is a complete story before I dove in XD

      Delete
    3. It is complex, I think you will really like it.

      Delete
  4. I also like her books so I'm curious about this one too!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yes! Yes! Yes! I'm so happy you loved this one! It's one of my most anticipated reads. I've tried requesting an ARC, but so far no luck. I'm just going to buy it the day it's released.

    Check out my 2018 End of the Year Giveaway! Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? 💬

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know you are going to love it. It was so much fun and so dark, which I loved.

      Delete
    2. I can't wait to see what you think about it!

      Delete
  6. Emberfall sounds pretty awesome, and I'm so glad the story is going to continue. Yay! Glad this one was good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love fairy tale retellings Kindlemom and this looks so good and even though I'm not a fan of YA I think this one would really appeal to me. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Now I'm even more excited to read this book!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm glad to hear that you really loved this one. I haven't read the author, but I have been reading more fairy tale retellings lately.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She is a great author and really did kill it with this retelling.

      Delete
  10. Dark fairytale style? Say no more. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I grabbed a copy of this one, it looked interesting, now after reading your review, I am excited to dive in!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Sounds like you really enjoyed this one. It's always nice to find a great book.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Can't wait to dive into this retelling. I had no idea it was going to be a series.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had no idea there would be a sequel either. It was a nice surprise and I'm so excited for it.

      Delete
  14. I am really looking forward to this one so I’m really happy to hear you loved it! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I just finished this and loved it! I hope there's more to come as I really need more of Grey's story. (:

    ReplyDelete
  16. She's another author I don't read much of but I've seen this one around and I really like the sound of it. Wrote it down for later reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is one of my most favs from her so definitely start here!

      Delete