Monday, April 30, 2018

Review: Owl and The Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish

Title: Owl and the Tiger Thieves
Author: Kristi Charish
Series: Book Four of the Adventures of Owl Series
Published By: Simon & Schuster (May 7, 2018)
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
In this fourth Owl novel, Kristi Charish (The Voodoo Killings) melds sparkling fantasy with the grit of urban underbelly—with a detour through the world’s most spectacular cities. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

Through no fault of her own, Alix has found herself essential to the fate of the world as we know it. She didn’t mean for this to happen—she was quite happy being merely the notorious antiquities thief, and ex-archeologist, known as Owl.

However, years ago, Owl reluctantly entered the secret world of the supernatural. Her goals: complete one job, escape one bounty on her head, continue her thieving in peace.

Fast forward to today. Now, she has become a key player in a brutal paranormal civil war that is rapidly getting out of hand. The leader of one of these factions—a lethal opponent called the Electric Samurai—grows more powerful by the second. To stop him, Owl sets out to find the long-lost, legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves.


But will it be too little too late? One thing Owl misses about “normal” archaeology: there are few emergencies with thousand-year-old relics. 











The Adventures of Owl is one of those series that I seriously think is way underrated.

Owl truly reminds me of a young female version of Indian Jones, hijinks, dangerous misadventures, and evil bad guys and all.

Throw in some very powerful and sometimes strange supernatural beings, a curse or two and you have one heck of a thrilling ride and let me tell you, this fourth installment in the series was intense! And dare I say, my favorite so far?

With the tragic ending that was book three, I was eager to dive right back into this world and see how in the heck Owl was coping with...well everything.

Can I say that I both loved this and maybe not loved it?

It was fabulous. Action packed, adventurous, mysterious but...it was also heartbreaking and slightly sad. So much has happened not only in the world Owl lives in but with Owl too. I just don't know how much more the poor girl can take. I feel for her and even though she has had some set backs, I like how she is dealing with it and she is dealing with it even if those ways aren't always the healthy ways.

I don't want to go into too much detail here but in this installment we get a lot of Artemis, which is both good and bad. I mean, it is Artemis and all his butt head ways but we see a side of him that we aren't use to and even though I didn’t want to like it, I did and it makes me curious how this story will progress from here, especially after that somewhat traumatic and cliffhanger ending that I did not see coming at all.


I'm very excited for what the future holds for Owl and all her friends and can't wait to read more.





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

44 comments:

  1. I only tried the 2 first books of the series. I need to continue

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a pretty fun series. I'm really liking it so far.

      Delete
  2. Haven't heard of this series yet but sounds really good. Need to check it out!

    xx
    Vanessa @ Blushing Geek

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is a fun and kind of quirky series.

      Delete
  3. Never heard of this. But, I definitely like the sound of it. I definitely want to read a few Urban Fantasy novels this year!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is one of my favorite genres. ;)

      Delete
  4. I need to give this series a try! It sounds so good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like how different it is from other UF.

      Delete
  5. Where's your review, hun? Am I reading it right? it looks like they're both the synopsis of the book. Am I seeing double? Lol.


    In any case, I only got through the first book. I sort of enjoyed it but I think it's one of those acquired taste kind of reads. :/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh my gosh, that is hilarious! thank you for actually reading my review LOL! I got it fixed. I must have copy and pasted the wrong thing. :P

      Delete
  6. I just got my copy the other day, it seems like they dont’ get them out there before release date.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I got mine a few weeks ago but yeah, kind of late considering the release date for sure. I hope you like it Heidi!

      Delete
  7. Great review Kindlemom, I can see why you'd think this was underrated and I haven't heard of it so I'm going to check it out further

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't picked up this series, but to still be really good at book 4 it must be great. Sounds great!

    Tori @ In Tori Lex

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was really good and fun too which was nice.

      Delete
  9. Have I seen this series on your blog before? I feel like I have. Anyway, great review as always, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, I think I reviewed the last book but not the others, if I'm remembering right and thanks so much Tyler!!

      Delete
  10. I read the first Owl book and she struck me as Indiana Jones- esque as well. And it sounds like the author puts her through the ringer in later books- I really should continue with this series. It had good characters.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes definitely and yes, she is put through the ringer, time and time again. It's kind of crazy actually.

      Delete
  11. Glad to hear you liked it, it sounds pretty good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's definitely unique feeling for sure.

      Delete
  12. I have heard good things about this series. I'm glad to see you're still loving it.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  13. I plan to start this series soon. I'm trying to catch up and finish some series before starting new ones first. Can't wait though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I should do that more but I don't because I suck and books are too tempting and I'm weak. :P

      Delete
  14. I enjoyed this one too, and gads I soften towards Artemis. I didn't want to, but I did. The ending has me wanting to dive into the next one! And now we wait. Thank goodness her Voodoo series has a release coming soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes I agree, which makes me wonder if there won't be something there eventually between them. Also, I need to check out her other series. Is it any good?

      Delete
  15. so happy to see this series is going strong, i hope to pick this one up soon! I think I would like Owl

    ReplyDelete
  16. I believe underrated is accurate since I haven't heard of this series but think it sounds awesome! I love Indiana Jones, and it's not often you find books that have the same appeal. Thanks for sharing this and bringing it to my attention! <3

    Do You Dog-ear?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Of course, thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  17. Both you and Kim raved about the series. I hope to pick it up soon.

    ReplyDelete
  18. This series does sound complex but in a good way. Thanks for your lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is and yes, in a good way. ;)

      Delete
  19. Sounds like a good series. I'll have to start looking for more UF series to read since my go-tos are now ending (Iron Druid and Kate Daniels).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, so many of mine are as well, so sad when it happens.

      Delete
  20. I love the word hijinks! I do love UF and I like that there are already 4 books out. Not liking the fact that this ends on a cliffy. I'll definitely check this series out. Wonderful review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Rachel and they kind of all end that way. Not huge ones, just ones that you know will really change the story up next book.

      Delete
  21. Everyone I know who has read these enjoyed them but yes they're rarely mentioned. I have book one and have got to give them a read at some point :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you do, more people need to read and love them. ;)

      Delete
  22. I can't help but like Artemis in this one. He's still a dick, but a useful dick at that and he showed some endearing qualities... man that twist in the end! What's going to happen to Owl now?!?!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I feel like my emotions with everything that was happening were all over the place. It will be interesting to see what happens next.

      Delete