Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Review: A Betrayal So Cruel by Candace Wondrak

Title: A Betrayal So Cruel
Author: Candace Wondrak
Series: Book Two in the Reckoning Trilogy
Published: June 1, 2018
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: ARC Provided by the Author (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 4 Solid Stars!



Book Description:
Welcome to the end of the world. Entrances to the Underworld are to the right, and the road to Hell is on the left.

Humanity wasn’t prepared for Armageddon. We didn’t think anything could take us down. How stupid. All it took was the Four Horsemen and a vengeful Hades, along with a crazy cult that Deb ran from. We’ve lost so much along the way, but it isn’t over.

It will never be over, not until Hades gets what he wants. What does he want? I don’t know, but I’m going to find out and make sure he never gets it. He hates me, hates Dagon, and for that, I hate him. I don’t care about his reasons. Earth and its people are not toys for the gods and Angels.

And Dagon—oh, Dagon. Despite it all, he can be sweet. But I don’t want sweet. I want danger. I want to live before I’m forced to play a part in this ancient war.

I’m being watched, lied to. I can’t trust anyone anymore. I can’t depend on anyone. Nothing is true in this apocalypse. Those with the prettiest of faces are the worst offenders of all.

The Devil cannot have me…but that won’t stop him from trying.




A Betrayal so Cruel is the second in The Reckoning trilogy, an Urban Fantasy/Apocalyptic mashup perfect for fans of Buffy, Supernatural, and quirky characters!







I loved A Mark Unwilling, just how different it felt from your typical UF. Yes it has monsters and supernaturals and yes there is magic and danger but it still felt some how unique and like a story I hadn't heard before which is why after reading it, I had no hesitation whatsoever picking up book two. 

I'm so glad I did because if I thought book one was good, it was nothing compared to book two. A Betrayal So Cruel was so much...more. More danger, more deceit, more lies, more mystery, more romance, just..more. 

I loved all the Greek mythology mixed in with the supernatural. Being a huge lover of both, it just made this read so much more fun and it wasn't long before I found myself quickly devouring it page by page. 

I'm so excited to see what book three will hold and where they all will go from here. 





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author. I was not compensated for this review.*

30 comments:

  1. Wow, the first two sentences of that book synopsis cracked me up! Got my attention too! This sounds fun, Greek mythology mixed with armgeddon?? Glad this was so good- and amazing cover also!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep! And the synopsis seriously reads a lot like the book, very funny at times and super serious at others. ;)

      Delete
  2. This one has me intrigued! I love the sound of it and thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A fresh take and a stronger sequel definitely caught my attention. Sounds good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, those can be rare sometimes. ;)

      Delete
  4. I really should try, I'm sure I could love it and it sounds good!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love that this was stronger Ali, and you know I love urban fantasy so this needs to go on my list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am too. I have high hopes for book three to be even better.

      Delete
  6. awesome to see greek myth in books :D I love it myself

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love when the series gets stronger as it goes, that is promising, plus I adore Greek Mythogloy, need to look up the first book.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Replies
    1. It matches (goes with) the first cover which I really love.

      Delete
  9. wow how did I miss this trilogy it does sound really unique. Thanks Kindlemom

    ReplyDelete
  10. Glad to hear book two was so much more! I do love UF so I'll have to check this one out. Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Glad your enjoying the series. I'm looking forward to picking up more Urban Fantasy soon.

    Tori @ In Tori Lex

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks and I really do love this genre. It's by far one of my favorites right now.

      Delete
  12. Definitely adding this one to my list!

    xx
    Vanessa
    Blushing Geek

    ReplyDelete
  13. I remember when you reviewed the first book, because those covers are stunning! It's hard not to remember them when they stand out like that. I'm glad the second book was just as enjoyable! It's definitely a series I need to read. Especially when book two is more of everything you liked about the first one. :)

    L @ Do You Dog-ear?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They really do stand out and I couldn't agree more. I hope you give them a try, they really are fun and different.

      Delete
  14. You had me with Greek mythology and the Four Horsemen! Glad book two was just as good as book one in the series.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay and me too. I'm hoping the last book will be even more so.

      Delete
  15. This one is calling to me. I just purchased the first boo. Its currently free. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so excited you grabbed it Nadene, I hope you love it!

      Delete