Monday, March 30, 2020

Review: Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa

Title: Night of the Dragon
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: Book Three in the Shadow of the Fox Trilogy
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published By: Inkyard (March 31, 2020)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
My Rating: 5 Stars!!


Book Description:
Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.


But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.









You know those series that are so well written, so captivating that you've been invested in from the very first chapter? Those stories that you think about long after you've put the book down and those stories that, you can't wait to get the next book of because you need to know what happens next? You need to know that all is well. That some how, it will all work out. That your beloved characters will have a happily ever after. Those stories in short, that speak to your soul and change you. Make you wonder about things you've never thought about before and see things and legends and lore different. Books that put you in a book hang over when you are done because how could anything else possible live up to this masterpiece you've just read?

The Shadow of the Fox trilogy, has been that trilogy for me and I'll be honest, that passion, that urge to read quickly and devour, yet stop and savor at the same time hasn't happened for me in a YA series, heck in a YA trilogy, in a really long time. 

And I did both devour and savor this. It was everything I was hoping it would be. So many emotions, thoughts, and feelings coursed through me throughout this whole last story. I cried, I laughed, I smiled, I got angry, and I cried again. I couldn't of asked for a better ending, a better story, or a better tale. 

Beautifully written, detailed, and told, this was everything I was looking for and everything I didn't even know I needed and wanted. 





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

30 comments:

  1. I used to love all the books by the author but it's been a while since I haven't read one

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This was the first series from her I had picked up in awhile and I loved it! Reminded me how much I love her writing.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Thanks me too, so darn good! I will miss this series!!

      Delete
  3. I can definitely see why you loved this Kindlemom and yes I have had those kids of series/trilogies too. Thank you

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They really are the best and stick with you long after you've finished them!

      Delete
  4. This is on my list. I have read other series by her and loved them. Glad to see such a strong finish!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will love this! So unlike her other stuff and doesn't read like a YA at all, in fact, I hate even calling it that other than the characters are on the younger side because there is just so much history and lore, that you don't even notice the ages of the characters.

      Delete
  5. I haven’t read any of this series but from your review, it sounds like I really need to and soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's just a trilogy so definitely read it, it really is so good!

      Delete
  6. I really want to try Julie Kagawa (ever since I heard so many good things about the Immortal Rules) and I love the sound of the kitsune. This sounds really fun! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really want to read all of her series. I loved her Fae series, it was so good. I need to read her Immortal series as well.

      Delete
  7. I do love it when a book captures my attention from the first chapter! This sounds like the perfect escape (from corona virus) reality! Glad to hear you loved it! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely a good escape from reality right now. ;)

      Delete
  8. That cover is AMAZING!
    I've never read Kagawa but she's been on my radar since the iron fey series. I'll read her eventually, I'm sure.

    The fact this is a 5-star read makes me even more determined to give her books a try! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've only read this one and her Iron Fey but I've loved them both!

      Delete
  9. Wow! Five stars. After your reading your thoughts--who knew I was psychic--I can't wait. :-)

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    ReplyDelete
  10. I've been looking for a series I want to devour and savor, since I've been struggling with focusing on my reading lately. It looks like I need to check this trilogy out :)

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do hope that you try it and like it. I've been struggling as well lately with even wanting to read and this definitely helped pull me out of it.

      Delete
  11. That sounds really good, I'm glad you liked it.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Julia Khawaja is one of my favorite authors, Glad you liked this!

    Beena

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I hope you try it and love it as well!

      Delete
  13. I'm reading this one right now and trying to savor it! I know it's the last book in this series, and I don't want it to end. However, I also want to know what happens!! I'm loving all of the connections and realizations being shown in this one, and I know the ending is going to be bittersweet. :)

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? 💬

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have enjoyed pretty much all of this author's books and have been meaning to read this series. You just made me move it up on my list. :)

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete