Friday, January 8, 2016

Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Title: Burning Midnight
Author: Will McIntosh
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Delacorte (February 2, 2016)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Sci Fi/Fantasy
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.






It is so much fun to not only get a guy's point of view in the young adult genre but to get something completely refreshing and original as well. 

This book ended up being so much fun in a very unexpected way. 

Science fiction reading has never been my strong suit. Stick me in front of a movie or tv show and I devour them, but put a book in front of me and I slug through it and more often than not, just like it, or could care less about it by the time I finish it. This however kept me interested, focused, and more of all, engaged.

The idea of the spheres as well and Sully's honest, no nonsense attitude and maturity really drew me into the story and held my interest, 

This turned out to be a fun and very unexpected read that was hard to put down.



*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

48 comments:

  1. it's nice to have a good sci-fi book, like you I'm really difficult with the genre but if you had a great time I should try too

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was fun and didn't feel too out there at all. ;)

      Delete
  2. Love a male MC! I have to look into this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm a fan of both The 5th Wave and The Maze Runner, so this looks like my type of read. Though, I really hate comparisons to other books in the blurb, unless it's actually true. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really need to read The 5th Wave now. ;)

      Delete
  4. OOh male POV and sci fi done well! I'll have to look into this.
    Glad this was a good read for you, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Nick, it really was different and fun. ;)

      Delete
  5. It is so hard to find something original and refreshing. Glad you enjoyed this one!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm glad you found a sci-fi book that worked for you!

    ReplyDelete
  7. A male protagonist huh? Oh man, I do enjoy reading from their perspective, but the author has to be male otherwise, the feel and sense of adventure isn't real for me. Is that mean? I'm being biased huh? Boo! It's true though ;)

    So glad you enjoyed this one in light of your previous read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The author is male so I bet it would work for you and that isn't mean at all, I understand what you are saying.

      Delete
  8. Hooray ! so glad you liked this one. I am almost started this one last night, but I decided to do some comfort reading. This will be next up for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooo I hope you like it Heidi, can't wait to see what you thought.

      Delete
  9. Hmm..I wasn't a big fan of Maze Runner, but I definitely want to read 5th Wave before the movie comes out. I think I might have to wait and see with this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wasn't of Maze Runner either but I still liked this. I really don't see too many similarities between the two to be honest so I would definitely try this one. ;)

      Delete
  10. This sounds quite good and I like that it has a male pov, as those feel like they are hard to come by in YA.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Great review Ali, I love many men writers of fantasy and J Barton Mitchell wrote my favorite YA Dystopian Fantasy series

    ReplyDelete
  12. I just love that you are picking up these sci-fi books. Yay for a male pov..it is nice getting a male perspective.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Sweet! I do like sci-fi, so no probs for me there. However, since you don't and enjoyed it anyway... WIN! Sounds like something I would enjoy myself. :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I think this one sounds really interesting. I like a good sci-fi, so this one sounds right up my alley. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you and I hope you like it as well!

      Delete
  15. This sounds pretty good. I have trouble with sci fi as well sometimes, but that include movies for me as well. I'm glad you enjoyed this one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't know why movies and TV series are always okay, so weird of me.

      Delete
  16. I'm with you. My brain dies when it comes to sci-fi. Not sure if this will work for me the same way it did for you. Maybe? :D

    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks and I hope yours was well too!

      Delete
  17. This sounds like a book I will definitely enjoy!! Great Review!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I feel the same way about Sci-Fi books. Glad you ended up loving this, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I'm relieved I did as well. ;)

      Delete
  19. I love sci-fi and fantasy, but still have that issue too sometimes. Glad this one didn't suffer sluggishness.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's weird how some of them work and others fail.

      Delete
  20. I don't really read a lot of sci-fi either, so that's great you found a novel that kept your interest!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is nice when that happens for sure. :D

      Delete
  21. I do love getting a male POV in the YA genre. This sounds incredibly intriguing and something I most definitely want to read. Plus, if it's a stand alone, that's pretty cool too. I love series, but every once in a while, it's nice to get a full, good story in just one go.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely hear you on the stand alones. ;)

      Delete
  22. Woohoo, guys POV. Love it. That cover is gorgeous too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's even better in person too and yes, huge bonus for the male POV!

      Delete
  23. I'm kind of the same way. I'll watch a lot of sci-fi shows and movies but it's rare when I pick-up a sci-fi book. I'm trying to read more in the genre this year. This one looks interesting (and I love that cover). I might need to check it out.

    ReplyDelete
  24. I really enjoy the male POV as well. I am glad you enjoyed this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Candace, it was a nice change. :D

      Delete