Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Review: The Lost and The Found by Cat Clarke

Title: The Lost and the Found
Author: Cat Clarke
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Penguin (September 13, 2016)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Thriller/Mystery
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face on the Milk Carton, and Natasha Preston’s The Cellar will be captivated by this twisty psychological thriller about an abducted girl who finally returns home to her family—but is she really who she claims to be?

THE LOST
When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Since then, Faith’s childhood has revolved around her sister’s disappearance—from her parents’ broken marriage and the constant media attention, to dealing with so-called friends who only ever want to talk about her missing sister.

THE FOUND

Now, thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the front yard of the Logans’ old house, disoriented and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Can her sister finally be back? Faith always dreamed of her sister coming home; she just never believed it would happen. But soon a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated from her family and paranoid about her sister’s motives. Before long, Faith begins to wonder if it’s the abduction that’s changed her sister, or if it’s something else. . . . 











It's hard to resist a good mystery that is filled with twists and dark turns and that leaves you questioning everything and lets face it, who doesn't love a book that makes you frantically flip through the pages until the very end? There aren't many of us that can resist them.

This book is ever mothers nightmare. The possibility, the horror that one of your children could be taken away from you in the blink of an eye with no leads, no suspects, and no where to turn. It is horrifying and chilling and not something anyone wants to think about but something we all want to shield from one another instead and wrap our families up in a neat, nice, tight bubble where nothing bad will ever get in or disturb.

This book brings all those horrors to the surface and puts them out there for all to see, all to fear, and all to sympathize with. 

It brings out the emotions of the what ifs, and the survivors guilt, and the anguish of losing someone you love and then finding them again. What a family, what a mother, a sister, and a father go through.

It was completely realistic, completely enthralling, and completely entertaining and I thoroughly enjoyed it. 

With enough mystery, suspense, and twisted details to keep you on the edge of your seat and turning the pages. 







*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

48 comments:

  1. It looks like we have so many things in this one! It's intriguing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so glad you liked this one!! It was pretty good, yeah!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm super sensitive about children so I don't know how well I'd handle this, but it's been ages since I'd last read a decent mystery.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't too bad with the violence or anything, I mean what happened was horrible but it wasn't graphic at all.

      Delete
  4. How did I miss this??? I love mysteries that are twisty and dark. Great review!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds good, Ali. Thank you for putting it on my radar. I've read a couple of books with the same plot and have enjoyed them, so looking for another one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for checking it out Joy and I really hope you like it too. ;)

      Delete
  6. I've read one book by Cat Clarke and I really liked it. This one sounds like an amazing thriller. I love how it affected you so much and how invested you were in the story.
    I'll have to check it out for sure, Ali! Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Nick and yeah, I definitely want to read more by her now.

      Delete
  7. Oh wow. I love these type of mysteries and of course you have me so curious..where was she? what happen? Great review Ali. I am adding to my wishlist :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You'll definitely find out if you read it. ;) :P

      Delete
  8. Sounds like a great mystery, Ali! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was fun Tyler and thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Delete
  9. Oooo I need to read this immediately Ali! I haven't read a good thriller in a while and it's definitely past time:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was, lots of unexpected things. ;)

      Delete
  10. As a mom this book sounds terrifying, but as a reader it sounds really good! Definitely adding to the TBR!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Despite being a tough topic, I like when these books are realistic and you can really feel the emotion. I must read this!

    ReplyDelete
  12. You had me at "twists and dark turns." This sounds like a very good read. I'm glad you liked it and I'll have to add it to my to read list!

    ReplyDelete
  13. That sounds very interesting :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Kindlemom, this looks fabulous. Thanks for the great review!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh shit! These days losing your child via kidnapping is the last thing you want to happen. I remember my mom "lost" me when I was little and it's great that I wasn't abducted by bad people. Nowadays you're lucky if your child is returned to you *goosebumps*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, it is such a crazy world now. I miss the days of being able to play outside without constant adult supervision because you just never know what could happen.

      Delete
  16. ooh, this sounds intriguing. I don't think I've read anything by Cat Clarke other than her debut novel, Torn. May just have to reacquaint myself with her work :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I definitely want to read something else of her's now.

      Delete
  17. You had me at stand alone!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is nice to have those once in awhile for sure. ;)

      Delete
  18. This looks very interesting. I'll definitely keep my eye out for it.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oh man, I could see how this book would be so engrossing, but disturbing all the same. It made think of Lovely Bones! So glad you enjoyed it despite the heavy themes :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. In a weird way kind of but yet not at all LOL. It was different like Lovely Bones.

      Delete
  20. Great review. I just started this one and I can't wait to find out how the story ends. It's definitely a horrible thing to go through, and I can't imagine ever experiencing something like that. Glad you liked the story :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't either, it is every parents worst nightmare for sure.

      Delete
  21. Stolen by Lucy Christopher is one of those books that disturbed me so much but I could not put it down. If this one is anything like it then I will definitely give this one a shot.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooo I will check that one out too then, I have no idea if it's as disturbing (I'm guessing this isn't) but it sounds great!

      Delete
  22. Great review! I love the blurb for this one but wow this premise freaks me out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was freaky, especially being a mom. ;)

      Delete
  23. Oh goodness. I can see that being a very chilling read.

    ReplyDelete
  24. This sounds like the plot of a new tv series that started last year- only with a boy instead. I didn't watch but heard it was good. It does sound like a good page turner. I am glad you enjoyed it Ali :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh The Family, yes, I watched that and...sort of LOL!

      Delete