Thursday, January 12, 2017

Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

Title: By Your Side
Author: Kasie West
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Harper Teen (January 31, 2017)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.


Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side? 











Any Kasie West book is hard to resist but throw in the setting and plot line for her latest, and for any book lover, it is downright impossible to say no to, which is why I didn't even think twice about getting it. West is an autobuy author for me, always has been and will continue to be so. Her latest book just reinforced for me why that statement is true.

I was expecting a fun light read filled with a heart stopping romance, with lovable, adorable characters and once again, West delivered. But this was also so much more than a good time. This felt believable and most of all with the beginning setting of being trapped in a library with a hot guy, also one most of us wouldn't mind happening to us in real life as well.

 Filled with tough issues, real life problems and so much more, West delivered in every way with her latest YA contemporary. It was one I plowed through in a matter of hours and one that left me with a warm feeling and a smile on my face. 






*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

50 comments:

  1. I felt exactly the same way!! Great review!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Review twins! Except I really did not like this one and thought had too many issues with it. I'm glad it was a fun read for you,however! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah sorry to hear that Nick but I can totally see that at the same time. It wasn't perfect. ;)

      Delete
  3. I almost started this one this week. I have to say I've only read one Kasie West book and I wasn't too into. I hope this one is just as good for me. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope this one ends up being a better read than her other one was for you. Can't wait to see what you thought about it.

      Delete
  4. Aww, this sounds like a really sweet story

    ReplyDelete
  5. Kasie is such a great author. I'm glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I want to be trapped in the library with a hot guy..lol This sounds fun :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read this author yet but this plot and setting really captured my interest. Sounds like the perfect one to start with!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a good one, perfect for a weekend read. ;)

      Delete
  8. I am glad to see you loved this. I read Nicks review and she wasn't a big fan. I recently read P.S. I Like You and I loved it so I am hoping this will be a good read for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, it probably isn't one everyone will love but hopefully one everyone will at least like. ;)

      Delete
  9. I'm sort of glad this one's a bit heavier than her usual fare. It'll be interesting to see her tackle the issues.

    I so want to read this one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a nice change of pace. I hope you like it!

      Delete
  10. I was a little worried about this one as I saw a few of my friends dnf it so early in the book, but I'm relieved to see that you enjoyed it. I really liked P.S. I Like You and On the Fence by West. Fingers crossed on this one!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Yay! Glad you liked this! I like that this was cute but also did tough issues! Lovely review (:

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! It really was a nice change for her.

      Delete
  12. You had me at stand alone :). Great review as always Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Becca and yes, it is very nice to have a stand alone every now and then.

      Delete
  13. Been a while since I read a YA contemporary, going to have to give her work a shot since you love it so much <3

    ReplyDelete
  14. I heard a lot about this author. One day I'll have to try her books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh I really hope you do, she really is a favorite. :D

      Delete
  15. This sounds like one I need to pick up! The trapped in the library with a hogtie doesn't hurt either :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Glad you liked in Kindlemom, sounds like a winner! Happy Friday. Ice Storm today here Yikes!

    ReplyDelete
  17. This is my dream book, working in a library. I do love West's books every year. I started reading this then got distracted with my new books for xmas. Haha. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you can finish it and that you like it as well. ;)

      Delete
  18. I don't read much in this genre, but I do have this author on my must read list. This one sounds like something I really need to try... especially with it being a standalone! I am beginning to love those! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah most of her YA contemporaries are stand alones which are super nice.

      Delete
  19. I can tell you really connected with the characters and story. Also, a worthy autobuy is always a good things. Let's be honest, even our favorite authors writes total duds once in a blue moon. Good thing West hasn't disappointed you yet.

    Happy weekend, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is very true, you have a really good point!

      Delete
  20. I do love her books as well. My problem is paying 10.00 for a Kindle book when the paperback is $6 something. I'd rather have the eBook, but that doesn't make a lot of sense to me. Wonder why they did that? Just a few dollars but it's just not right. Glad you loved it. I will wait for a sale :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh that is strange, I didn't realize it was that way.

      Delete
  21. Really good review! I've never read a Kasie West book before but I've seen a few good reviews of this one in the past few days. I'm definitely going to have to read this very soon.

    ReplyDelete