Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Review: Liars, Inc by Paula Stokes

Title: Liars, Inc
Author: Paula Stokes
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: HarperTeen (March 24, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Thriller/Mystery
My Rating: 4 Stars


Book Description:
For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.






Oh the tangles webs we weave when first we try to deceive. 

Is it wrong that I actually really liked this book? I mean, considering it is all about lying? I couldn't help it though, I loved the premises and I even liked devious Max.

This is one of those stories that you don't have to connect in anyway to the characters, in order to be invested in the rest of the story and while that would sometimes bother me, it really worked for the theme of the story. After all, in this story, no one is who they seem to be and everyone has a secret. 

And even though I knew what was coming for the most part, this was such an engaging read that it didn't even matter. I liked the suspense and the mystery and all the deception. In fact, this book couldn't possibly have a better title than the one it does, it fit perfectly with everything going on.

Once again it was a joy to get a story with a male protagonist. One who was brutally honest in all that he thought, said and did. 

I loved that this was very real even though it wasn't real. Doesn't make sense I know but if you read it, it will. I loved the family bond between Max, his mom, and his sister. It just worked so well for this story, especially since the friendship bond just want there. But instead filled with the most lies and deceit of all. 

This troy just worked and it worked for no reason at all other than the engaging writing. A non stop plot, and an interesting, almost thrilling mystery.

This was pretty well done and I enjoyed it much more than I expected I would. I look forward to picking up whatever else this author decides to write in the future simply because I know I will have a great time while reading it.





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

50 comments:

  1. Brutally honest and a liar ... sounds like my type. ;) I'll have to read this when I'm in a thriller/mystery mood.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet you would like this one Christy!

      Delete
  2. I really enjoyed this one as well, Ali. I loved the lies and twistiness of it all. It was really fun to read about. I liked the male POV as well. It was very well-written.
    Lovely review, Ali! I'm glad you liked this as much as I did. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I find it super interesting whenever a book manages to hold my attention in a train wreck kind of way. The subject is taboo, and you know that you shouldn't enjoy it, but you just can't help yourself!

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is very true Carmel and this was one of those reads. ;)

      Delete
  4. Normally any book that focused on lying as a major plot point would drive me absolutely crazy, I don't deal well with lying and secrets, but in this case it sounds like it works:) I need more books that are just pure fun in my life Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It did work because normally I am with you on that.

      Delete
  5. This does sound like a really exciting book. The whole "can't trust anyone/it's all lies" idea seems similar to We Were Liars, so I think I'd like it!

    -Lauren

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've been really curious about this one. I did grab a copy from Edelweiss, but wasn't sure if I'd want to read it sooner or later. Sooner it is. :)

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does have some darker stuff in it (like sexual) but nothing graphic!

      Delete
  7. OH wow, what a premise. Okay you convinced me Ali, sign me up! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Okay so who's the liar? I like that te hero is brutally honest, that's a nice contrast to the theme

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was and...I'll never tell.
      :P

      Delete
  9. This sounds good, and I think it is great you even managed to like Max.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have this coming up soon. I have always enjoyed Paula's books in the past, so I am hopeful this will work for me even though it is edgy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you will like it, especially if you already like the author's other work.

      Delete
  11. I have this on my TBR pile, and I'm hoping to get to it soon. So glad to hear you enjoyed it! I have come to expect a lot from Paula, and I'm glad this delivered. Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Lauren and I really hope you like it just as much!

      Delete
  12. Hmm, this seems unusual. Not bad, just not something I've heard of much before, which is good - originiality!! I'm definitely interested :) Nice review, Ali!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Original is always good. ;) Thanks Lola!

      Delete
  13. Oh fantastic!!! Great review :). So many good books, so little time to read :(.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm excited to hear you enjoyed this one but I'm scared of all the lies :S I have a feeling this is going to be a love or hate book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You might be right! I think a lot of people will have a problem with some of the issues in this book.

      Delete
  15. I'm reading this now and liking it pretty well. I'm not far enough in for stuff to really start happening yet though. I love the male POV!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do too and wish there were more YA books with it.

      Delete
  16. I haven't read this one yet, Ali. But it does sound like an engaging mystery that will keep you on your toes!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was fun for sure. :) Thanks for stopping by Joy!

      Delete
  17. I haven’t heard of this series before though, but you have me intrigued now. Lovely review

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't a series, just a stand alone. :)

      Delete
  18. I love lying and secrets in books. so exciting! Sounds awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oh, what an intriguing review! I don't think I've ever read a book that revolved around lying. I'll definitely have to check this one out, esp. since Rashika liked it alot, too!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
  20. This sounds like a great twisty tale, one full of lies and intrigue that keeps you glued to your book. I'm curious now - I'll definitely want to check this one out some more! Lovely review, Ali :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. I'm super excited to get my hands on this one! I love that it exceeded your expectations! Lovely review Ali! I'm even more excited for this one now :)

    ReplyDelete
  22. This one sounds pretty cool. I haven't read many from a male POV either. It sounds like it could make a pretty good tv show too. I love stories that keep me guessing and that have some good mystery to them. I like characters that i can't take at face value. adds more "oomph" to the story.
    <3

    ReplyDelete
  23. Great review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed this book so much, I'd kind of talked myself out of reading this one. You've got me considering giving this a go now, it seems like an interesting read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was really interesting and kept me on my toes, I think you would like it.

      Delete
  24. So glad you liked this and thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete