Friday, May 22, 2015

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Title: The Night We Said Yes
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Harper Teen (June 16, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 4.5 Stars!


Book Description:
A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. 

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. 

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.







I hate to admit this, but when I picked this up, I was in a sort of YA contemporary funk. I was so tired of the same old, same old and I really wasn't all that excited to start this. But, the synopsis looked original and fun and I was hoping like crazy that this debut novel would blow me away, get me out of my own head and most of all be fun. Something I seriously needed in order to get back into the groove of this genre.

Wonderfully written as it goes back and forth from the “now” to the “then” this novel was exactly what I needed and was looking for. A true breath of fresh air in the contemporary genre. 

Matt and Ella were two characters that I instantly liked, felt for, and later, fell in love with.

So many moments in this made me stop and think and most of all smile as Matt and El told their story, the story of their past, and their future.

This truly was just what I needed. With amazing side characters that had a story to share every bit as much as Matt and El did, I loved every minute of this read and tried to savor it so it would never end.

A wonderful tale of first love, heart break, growing up, staying strong, and finally becoming that person you are meant to be with the help of those that love you, this was a great coming of age story that will be sure to please even those that are burnt out on the genre, The Night We Said Yes was a stand out novel that I'm so happy I took a chance on.





*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review*

46 comments:

  1. I wasn't the biggest fan of this novel, atleast one of us enjoyed it though :) the concept itself was interesting overall.<3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was born in a YA contemporary funk, but every once in a while I find a book worth making an exception for. This might just be it! It sounds absolutely wonderful, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL I love that Maja. I do hope you like this one!

      Delete
  3. Yay that's awesome. I love when I'm in a genre funk and someone comes along and totally rocks it and has something fresh and exciting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like something that I would like and it's great that this was good enough that it pulled yo out of that slump. Thank you for your review.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm so excited to see you loved this one, Ali! It sounds like it was a lot of fun. I can't wait to pick it up myself.
    Lovely review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you love it too Nick but I think you will. ;)

      Delete
  6. YAY for a breath of fresh air Ali! I go in and out of funks with certain genres all the time and it's always nice when I find the book that pulls me out of it and reminds me of all the reason I love that particular genre. So glad this was that book for you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does happen and it is wonderful when you are pulled out of them again. :D Thanks so much Jenny!

      Delete
  7. Glad this turned out to be a good read for you! I've been wanting to read this and I'm hoping to soon. Awesome review! :D

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you love it as much as I did!

      Delete
  8. I've seen this on many lists around the internet, but I'll admit I was somewhat wary, for the same reasons you list on your review. Thank you for making it clear to me that I need to read it :) Happy Friday to you too, Ali :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Matt and Ella sound wonderful and I like how you described the alternating writing going from "now" to their "past" - very cool. This seems very sweet and I'm glad it was the perfect read to take you out of a YA contemporary slump.Yay!
    Hope you have a terrific weekend, Ali :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm glad you gave this one a shot and it was worth it. Sometimes you just have to try. It sounds like a fun summer read.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm a little burnt out on contemporary too. But this sounds promising! Especially since you enjoyed it so much :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would definitely try it when you get the chance, I bet you like it too Eileen. :D

      Delete
  12. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed this one! I've read a few reviews that weren't so good. My co-blogger has it for review so I think I'll wait and see what she thinks before I pick it up, although, your review is making me want to read it ASAP :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh I can't wait to see what she thought, I hope she liked it.

      Delete
  13. I think the phrase that hooked me in your review was "a breath of fresh air" - because like you, I've been in a YA Contemporary funk recently and so I've been avoiding the genre... but I'd like to give this novel a go. :-) It sounds busy enough - character/plot-wise - and original enough, to be something I'd really enjoy. Great post!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Ok I totally skimmed your review because I have this for review..it spoke to me and your rating has me dancing!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I will have to make sure to resort to this one when I get the contemporary cravings ha ha! The cover art is beautiful and I do like when a story delicately interweaves the side characters into the development of the plot. Lovely review :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I am glad this book brought you out of your funk...hehehe! Great review. I am excited to read it. Eventually :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. It's nice to have an original story like that because you're right, sometimes it's difficult in YA.

    ReplyDelete
  18. KIndlemom, what a great premise and loved your review. Thanks you know I'm not a big YA fan but this one looks really good and I am trying to spread my wings a bit. Also sorry I haven't been around this week I've been having some medical issues that (fingers crossed) are getting better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh no, I hope you are doing better Debbie!!! *hugs*

      Delete
  19. I usually don't like the past/present books that switch, but this sounds good.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I tend to dislike "now' and "then" stories, but I'm thrilled it was this good a read during a Contemporary YA funk!

    ReplyDelete
  21. Yaaay! I'm glad to see that there was a book that reignited your love for contemporary! There are times I get so tired of a certain genre too (dystopia) THEN BOOM SOMETHING APPEARS THAT MAKES ME LOVE IT AGAIN (Red Rising!) Hope this streak continues, love!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh yes, Red Rising was amazing Faye! I can see how that one did for you. I do love those books that come along and fuel out love all over again.

      Delete
  22. I have this one waiting on my TBR for me. Now that I know you enjoyed it, I'm even more excited to read it :) Maybe that will encourage me to get to it faster. haha Anddd I just found out that the author went to Florida State, like me, and lives in Orlando, like me. I must read this ASAP!

    Great Review!

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh that is really cool Michelle, now you for sure have to read it!

      Delete
  23. Its very nice post! i like very much this post! this is great review! i enjoy and excited it this very nice and great review posting thanks for sharing! safety officer courses in chennai|Industrial safety course in chennai|diploma in fire and safety courses in chennai|iosh course training in india|nebosh igc keep posting!

    ReplyDelete