Saturday, May 2, 2015

Review: The Whisperer By Fiona McIntosh

Title: The Whisperer
Author: Fiona McIntosh
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Knopf Book For Young Readers (April 14, 2015)
Source: Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Fantasy
My Rating: 3.5 Stars


Book Description:
In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight Rooms and Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy won’t want to miss this.

Lute is a prince, next in line to the throne. Griff is a poor carnival worker who does the heavy lifting while the malevolent ringmaster orders him about. But there’s something special about Griff: he can hear the thoughts of everyone around him. And one day, he begins to connect with Lute’s mind, even though they’ve never met and are miles apart.

When Lute must run for his very life, Griff may be the only one who can help him. In a journey over land and sea, these heroes battle deadly foes and make unlikely allies, including a host of magical creatures and their caretaker, a bitter old dwarf, and a mysterious lady pirate. When the boys finally come together, they will learn they are connected in ways they could never have imagined, ways that may save them—or cost them both their lives.







This had a very Prince and the Pauper type feel but with a  paranormal aspect to it which was a fun addition to the story, it made it its own without being a complete retelling.

Told in multiple point of views this was an interesting take with the circus background and all the magical creatures added to the story. With the boys lives intertwining all along the way with secrets, deception, and with a common goal in mind as the boys both fight for their freedom in different ways.

I think a younger audience will really enjoy this read and find it hard to put down. While this was an interesting story it however dragged in places and it took a very long time before Lute and Griff ever met, which I think was a bit disappointing. I think it would have helped the story so much if the boys could have been together more throughout instead of Griff just hearing Lute's thoughts through most of the story but having said that, I really don't think that will detour very many people from liking the story and continuing it. 

This was a fun retelling with a twist and deception and secrets around every corner.




*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

21 comments:

  1. I love retellings and The Prince and The Pauper were one of my all time faves. I'm going to share this with my young reading fans. Thanks Kindlemom!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Debbie! I hope your readers like it as well. :)

      Delete
  2. Hmm I'm not so sure about a book being told in multiple POVs because I tend to have bad luck with those but I'll definitely keep this one on my radar! :D

    Nice review <33

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the sound of this one! I love the circus setting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The circus part was a fun element.

      Delete
  4. Sounds like an interesting read for my son. I like the multiple-perspective POV, it usually makes things that much more interesting. I love the energy of your review. You always manage to keep things fresh :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I definitely think a younger audience would love this!

      Delete
  5. I feel really ignorant right now because I had no idea that the original title of that story was Prince and the Pauper. It's called differently here so yeah lost in translation. Anyhow I'm glad you got to read this one and even though it seems really interesting I think I'm too old for this kind of story. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It might be lost in translation Tanja. ;)

      Delete
  6. I think this would be a great book to gift an MG kid to get them into reading. the Circus & creatures is sure to fire up the imagination

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooooh, I love the Prince and Pauper combination! It such a strinking and great contrast. This one looks good. Wish it were LGBT though ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh nice I haven't read a retelling of this tale yet. I know a few young readers that would enjoy this one

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really would be great for middle grade!

      Delete
  9. I like when they add fantasy to an old classic. I would've expected the switch before a quarter in though. I'm glad it was still a good book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah me too but that is okay, it did work out okay in the end and was nicely done. ;)

      Delete
  10. I like when they add fantasy to an old classic. I would've expected the switch before a quarter in though. I'm glad it was still a good book.

    ReplyDelete