Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Release Day Review: Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

Title: Once Kissed
Author: Cecy Robson
Series: Book One in the O'Brien Family Series
Published By: Loveswept (November 3, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: Contemporary Romance
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.






It is with eager anticipation and excitement that I pick up ever read by Robson but this one promised to be even more special. After all, we were not only getting glimpses from some of our past favorite characters in the Shattered Past series but, more importantly, we were getting the O'Brien clan. 

The lovable crazy family featured in Once Pure, that was every bit as fun and unpredictable as I was hoping they would be and I couldn't have been more excited to jump in and officially meet them all. 

It took me about one page to decide that I already was in love with both Declan and Curran and knew that I was on the path to another fabulous series by Robson. One that promised to be every bit as entertaining as it was going to be swoon worthy and fun and probably emotional as well if this lived up to all the other books by this author. 

I'm happy to report that I was right on all counts and this turned out to be an amazing read that kept me up reading long past the time I should have been.

I completely loved the O'Briens and it truly was so nice seeing Killian and Sofia together again and not only them, but Brody and Lety too! That was a surprise I wasn't expecting and I absolutely loved it!

I felt so much for Tess in this novel. It was hard not to be heart broken for her and her circumstances and most of all, I wanted her father to get what was coming to him. I don't think I have loathed a character as much as I did him since the famous Umbridge from the H.P, series. I wanted to reach through the pages and throttle the vile man. I also wanted Tess to be strong and stand up to him more than anything else. And every time she encountered him, I wanted to be strong for her, to give her strength to face him and to say no to him.

Curran was such a great character. A cop in every way but also a loving brother, friend, and an all around great funny guy that was incredibly hard not to swoon over. 

This was such a fantastic read and I can't wait for more from the O'Briens. I truly hope they all get their turn in the spotlight.

Robson has done it again and created an emotionally charged read with swoon worthy characters, laugh out loud moments, and wonderful messages all laced throughout the book.

She truly is a talented writer that never ceases to amaze me with her words. 



*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

48 comments:

  1. Hah! I love Cecy, but I don't know how well I'd do with an MC named Curran. That would drive me crazy as I'd keep expecting him to turn into a lion.

    Ali! I missed you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was a bit tricky Maja! And yay! So good to see you, I've missed you too!!! <3

      Delete
  2. I didn't read the other series (although I need t look into that) but everyone seemed to have loved this one! I definitely need to check it out - Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Grace, she does write well in any genre. ;)

      Delete
  3. Oh dang. I have still not read her but want to so bad! Everyone I know that's read em has loved em. And totally LOLing at the Curran comment. That is totally The Beast Lord!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL I know Anna, I really think you would like this though, just enough steam to keep you interested for sure. ;)

      Delete
  4. Oooooo I can't wait to loathe her father Ali! I love hating a good villainous character as much as I love loving the hero/heroine. I've read nothing but glowing reviews for this one over the past few days, so I can't wait to dive in and meet these two for myself:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will love to hate her father then Jenny, he is despicable and not in the cute minion way. ;)

      Delete
  5. I've heard such good things about this book already, Ali! I'll be picking it up for sure with some of my gift cards this weekend. :)
    I do hope the name Curran doesn't take away from my enjoyment. I just need to tell myself that he's not the Beast Lord! ;)
    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. After awhile it was easier too look past the name although, he is similar in lots of ways. ;)

      Delete
  6. I am seeing so many reviews of this book this week. I need to find some time (and moneys) and purchase a copy because it sounds yummeh!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is and I hope you can/do because all her books are fabulous!

      Delete
  7. Thanks Ali this is definitely my kind of read, dysfunctional families make me feel right at home :)
    Sorry I haven't been around much lately :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. *hugs* I completely understand Debbie so no worries at all! It is so good to see you though!!

      Delete
  8. I'm late I'm late! But I so need to read this one!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This is seems to be universally well received! I'd love to curl up with it one night, too :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you do and that you love it Ramona. ;)

      Delete
  10. Talk about a steamy book cover! :P I do love it when an author is able to fashion characters that are seemingly easy to become attached to; wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The cover definitely fits the story. ;)

      Delete
  11. Great review. This book seems to be getting so many wonderful reviews, maybe it is one I need to try.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh do and I hope you love it and Cecy's writing!

      Delete
  12. Thank you so much for this feature and review of Once Kissed! I'm so happy you continue to enjoy my work and am touched by your support and kind words. You honor me always, today is no exception. Hugs! :'-)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I still haven't read anything by her. :P

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh gosh you so need to Erin, I KNOW you will love her. ;)

      Delete
  14. Loved this one too. I was glad to catch up with Lettie and Brody! Can't wait for more.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too Heidi, it was a nice surprise. ;)

      Delete
  15. Every time I see a review of one of her books I kick myself for STILL not having read any of her books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. *kicks you too* J/K! You so should though, they really are so much fun. ;)

      Delete
  16. Love a writer that knows how to use their words!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too Jazmen, thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Delete
  17. So much love!! That's awesome you loved this one - and pretty much from the start. I hope the rest of the series is just as good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Lauren, I'm sure it will be if her other books are any indication. ;)

      Delete
  18. Y'all swarmed on this one. At least the rating is somewhat unanimous. Very encouraging

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is because she is just that good. :P

      Delete
  19. I know how much you love her books, I'm so happy you enjoyed this newest one, Ali. This is so hard - what book to try first from her, lol.
    Lovely review as always you're adding to my pile :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are all good so which ever genre you prefer at the time. ;) I adore her UF series though, it is so much fun.

      Delete
  20. Yeah, her dad was a total piece of crap. Damn, I need to finish the Shattered Past series, I still recognized everyone from that series in this book just from the first SP. I love Curran though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should read the others too, they were all good. ;)

      Delete
  21. Amazing review, Ali! I haven’t read anything by this author yet, but this sounds like just what I need right now. Can I jump right into it or should I read the other series first?

    ReplyDelete
  22. It's always great when you fall in love with a book from the get go! Makes for a really enjoyable read. :D

    ReplyDelete
  23. I can't believe I missed this book. I love Cecy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh gosh you need to grab it Jennifer!

      Delete
  24. I just wish I could read all the books I want to read! I have read so many good reviews on this one. Glad you liked it so much!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hear you! So many out there I want to try as well. ;)

      Delete