Thursday, May 18, 2017

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish

Title: Owl and the Electric Samurai
Author: Kristi Charish
Series: Book Three in the Adventures of Owl Series
Published By: Simon and Schuster (May 8, 2017)
Source: ARC Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: Fantasy
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…


Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.







Who ever described Owl as a young female Indian Jones was so spot on, so much so that the person deserves a prize. There isn't a better phrase or a better character that comes to mind when I think of this series as a whole. It is just so much stinking fun. And like our beloved hero Indian Jones, you just know that with each new installment an exciting new adventure and outrageous predicaments are just around the corner. 

With danger, the odd supernatural, magic, and spells truly lurking in every dark and creepy crevice and cavern she can fin, this story keeps you on edge with one wild adventure after another. With just the right amount of romance to keep it interesting but not taking over the real heart of the story which truly is all about the escapades she can get herself into, and of course out of with the help of a whole lot of friends and friend-enemies a like. 

If you have been on the cusp of trying this series, my advice to you is this, step off that edge and do it. Fly face first, feet first, into the non-stop history, adventure, and fun that  inevitably awaits you. 

Be prepared though, this one ends on one heck of a cliffhanger. I can't wait for more!




*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

38 comments:

  1. Ooh a young female Indiana Jones?? That sounds right up my alley! I need to try this series out. But oh no! A cliffie!!
    Great review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is a fun series, definitely try it Nick. ;)

      Delete
  2. I don't know this series!! Young female Indiana Jones does sounds pretty awesome. Great review!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. A young female Indiana Jones has me wanting to read this! Great review, thanks for bringing this to my attention.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad I could, it really is an underrated series. ;)

      Delete
  4. This is a new series to me and I'm totally loving that it's kind of like young Indiana Jones! Glad you loved this! Awesome review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was new to me until a bit ago and I'm so glad I decided to start it because it really is so much fun and different.

      Delete
  5. I'll be checking this out! BTW, I took your advice and read the first book, Burn for Me, in Ilona Andrews' Hidden Legacy series, and ZOMG I LOVED IT!!! The wait for White Hot is brutal!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I'm so happy to hear (read) you say that! It really is amazing and you will love the other two as well. ;)

      Delete
  6. The publisher just recently sent me this and I am excited to dive in, although my review won't post until the end of June. I am excited you enjoyed it but the cliffhanger is killing me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Usually the cliffies aren't so bad in this but this one put me a bit on edge. I wasn't ready for it I think. You will love it Kim. ;)

      Delete
  7. This series sounds like so much fun! I'll have to jump off the edge and try it. Hopefully, when I start it I won't have to wait too long before the 4th book comes out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm hoping it won't be that long of a wait either. I really hope you like it!

      Delete
  8. Dang it. I have book one still on my list. lol Darn on the cliffhanger but yay on the awesome read :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had the first book for a long time in my TBR as well so don't feel bad. ;)

      Delete
  9. Ugh..Another cliffhanger. I do like this series though and I am most eager to see what happens with Captain.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This cliffhanger (imo) is the worst one yet. Hopefully book four will be right around the corner. And don't worry, Captain shows up. ;)

      Delete
  10. I keep thinking this series sounds right up my alley, but I haven't started it yet. Loved getting your thoughts on this installment of the series.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should definitely try them. ;)

      Delete
  11. Ahhhh! I have to start this series soon!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I've seen a few reviews for this one and everyone seems to have liked it.

    ReplyDelete
  13. A female Indiana Jones? Sold! I love it when the woman takes on the adventurous role, and I do like a bit a romance mixed up in all the fun. I never heard of this series until I saw you reading it. I've got to see if there's an audio copy. Wonderful review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm pretty sure there is for the first two, I do hope you try it!

      Delete
  14. Right? She's so kick ass. I love her never-say-die spirit! I only read the first book but I'm looking to keep going when I find the time. Lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely read the second and this one too, so much fun and she just gets better I think.

      Delete
  15. I read the first Owl book but that's it. This one looks fun!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you liked it, they all have been pretty fun so far.

      Delete
  16. Haven't heard of this series before and it really sounds interesting. I'll make sure to check this one out. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really hope you do, it really is fun. ;)

      Delete
  17. I haven't heard of this series before but it sounds exactly up my alley! Wonderful review and thanks for adding this to my radar!!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I need to read this one as well!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oooh, I love Owl and her gang so much. I'm so happy this was another great read - one I'm definitely picking up soon.

    ReplyDelete