Wednesday, February 1, 2017

WoW Pick of the Week!



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It is a chance to share those new releases were are super anxious to get our hands on and read.

I really enjoyed the first book and I'm really hoping this one lives up to it, so far the cover and synopsis seem amazing so I'm keeping my fingers crossed!



Book Description:


Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Fate is the thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Crown’s Game, an atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia.

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult—and dangerous—than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems—his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges—and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly—Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of the Crown’s Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he’s given a second chance at life—tied to a dark price—Nikolai must decide just how far he’s willing to go to return to the world.


With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight—or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.










32 comments:

  1. Imperial Russia setting that probably was alluring to many readers was actually the reason I haven’t picked up The Crown's Game last year. I’m weary of books inspired by Russia, it’s hard for me not to pick up even minor inaccuracies in portraying my culture. It can lessen my enjoyment of a book. I hope the second book would live up to your expectations, Ali.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the cover but need to read the first book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely read it, it was a fun one. ;)

      Delete
  3. Great pick! I loved the first one and I can't wait to read this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, I really hope it will be fabulous. :D

      Delete
  4. I was interested in TCG last year, but then all the mixed reviews made me take a step back. I still have it on my Overdrive wish list just in case I decide to take a peek. I hope you love this sequel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Lekeisha and if you try the first, I hope you like it!

      Delete
  5. Crown's Game didn't work for me at all so I won't be continuing the series, but I do hope you enjoy this sequel. The cover is stunning!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sorry it didn't work for you but I completely understand. It does have a great cover though, I agree. :D

      Delete
  6. That has a really interesting story line to it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is different, that is very true.

      Delete
  7. What a cool cover. I don't recall the first book at all. I need to go look it up. Thanks for putting this on my radar.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds thrilling. I need to check out this author!

    ReplyDelete
  9. You know I love a Russian setting! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Curious blurb and I love the setting. I wonder how the romance is like in this series. YA can be notorious for it's romances (and I'm not the biggest fan). I guess I'll have to wait for your review for me to know. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The first one the romance wasn't a huge part of it necessarily but it was there.

      Delete
  11. I love the Red Queen, and with that, I'm sure I'll love this one too. Gosh, those cover is just amazing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They really aren't all that similar but I bet you like it nonetheless. ;)

      Delete
  12. I didn't read the first one and I don't ead much YA Fantasy anymore but I hope you like it Ali :)

    Nereyda│ Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yes, definitely looking forward to this too! Can't wait to see what happens next. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you and I hope we both love it!

      Delete
  14. Very striking cover. Hope it's even better than the first one for ya!

    ReplyDelete