Friday, April 18, 2014

Review: The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik

Title: The Last Best Kiss
Author: Claire LaZebnik
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Harper Teen (April 22, 2014)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Book Description:
Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too....

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.










Even though I own a couple of her books this is my very first official LaZebnick novel and I have to admit, I really enjoyed it. So much so that all those others just sitting there in my TBR pile are certainly going to get a dusting off and finally have their spins cracked open.

This was such a cute story. It has Jane Austen written all over it, woven into the very pages and storyline itself without have to be labeled a retelling or remake. It is very much it's own story. 

Even though I am very familiar with where the storyline was going to go with having read Persuasion numerous times in the past, I still really enjoyed this. Even if Anna isn't Anne, she did a great job putting a modern spin on her character. In fact, she did so well that I wasn't even sure I liked her in the beginning. She was self centered and selfish and all be it a little cruel to Finn and I didn't like her for it. I wanted to not like her. But as in all cases like this one, she grew on me and even redeemed herself over time in my eyes.

I loved Finn and while he was no Mr Wentworth, he was a worthy opponent. It was pretty hard to resist his nerdy side and even harder his more “grown” up side. 

This was a fun retelling with a very modern twist that I am glad I took time out to read and enjoy. 




*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

28 comments:

  1. This sounds super cute. Thanks for the great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. It's always a good sign when you read a book by an author, and it makes you want to check-out more of their writing, especially when you have a few of 'em already on your TBR pile. This sounds like a fun read; thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a lot of fun! I like that there's bits of Persuasion in it. I have this author's Epic Fail, but haven't had a chance to pick it up yet. I'll probably give that a try first, and if it goes well, I'll give this one a shot too. I'm glad you had fun with it overall. Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have that one from her as well that I really need to read.

      Delete
  4. I love re-tellings and I have yet to read a claire book either. This one looks like the perfect one for me to start with. It looks like a really cute one.

    Great review

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't heard of this one but I still need to gather enough courage to read a P&P re-telling. I'm happy you enjoyed this one. Great review, Ali :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have one of her books, or at least it's on my wishlist. This sounds fun!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have been eyeing this one and since I haven't read Persuasion in years it would be a surprise for me. Have a wonderful Easter weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ooh you should really check out her other books now! I liked this one well enough too (though I haven't read Persuasion). Check out The Trouble with Flirting next, it's so adorable <3
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Awesome review! I'm not always a fan of retellings, because they oftentimes just feel like the original without giving anything new (so what's the point of that anyway? In that case I'd rather read the original version!), so every time I stumble upon a retelling that puts their own take on it, I always welcome it with open arms. We need more books like that that take a tale and then give it a modern spin. At least there's something to look forward to in that regard!

    Great review! >:D<

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do like that it was a very modern spin, made it kind of fun. :)

      Delete
  10. I feel like such a dolt, LOL. I got this book back whenever it was a kindle daily b/c I have read and liked Claire Lazebnik in the past, but I had NO idea this was a retelling of Persuasion. *shakes head* I would have read it the moment I one-clicked it, if I had known. Great review ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad I could enlighten you on it. ;) I hope you like it!!

      Delete
  11. Ooo I did not know this was a retelling of Persuasion!!! This sounds delightful and I love that you are digging out this author's other books from your TBR pile

    ReplyDelete
  12. AHH another Persuasion-esque story? How have I not read this one! I love Persuasion and any story that riffs on it is one I'm definitely going to be reading. Thanks for putting this on my radar with your lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet you will think this is a sweet read as well Lauren. ;) Happy to put it on your radar.

      Delete
  13. This sounds like another really cute read. I like that it has Jane Austen written all over it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete