Friday, May 16, 2014

Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Series: Book One in the Murder Complex Series
Published By: Greenwillow Books (June 10, 2014)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Dystopian
My Rating 4.5 Stars!

Book Description:
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.








I picked this up simply for the synopsis and if I am being honest, specifically the words, “An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate.”

I mean come on, how could that not appeal to, well, almost everyone?

Maybe it was my darker side, or maybe just my really curious morbid side, either way, it appealed to me and I was excited to start it and jump right into a world I knew was going to be gritty and dark and unlike most in the YA genre.

From the very first page this story didn't disappoint. I got everything I was expecting and even a little more so. 

I loved Meadow. She is tough, somewhat of a brute but still loving to her family and wants what is best for them, even if that means killing others to get it. She isn't afraid to get dirty and she isn't afraid of a good fight. She truly is kick butt. 

Zephyr I had to warm up to. At first I thought he was soft and emotional, especially for a guy living in the world that they lived it, a world where murder is the norm and not only the norm but even encouraged. 

I was wrong about him, he is anything but soft. In fact he is something he doesn't even know, doesn't even understand. 

I did have to warm up to him, but warm up to him I did. It didn't take me very long before I liked him and even grew to care about him and feel for his situation.

This book was non stop action right from the beginning, jumping right into the heart of the world where seeing blood and death is an every day occurrence and nothing is held back.

My only complaint is that the whole world and The Murder Complex itself wasn't explained sooner (not until about half way through the book). We don't learn what all the terminology (like the Silent Time, Shllows, Dark Time) is until later as well. I think there would have been less confusion for these things to have been better explained right from the beginning but considering how Meadow and Zephyr both discovered exactly what the Complex is, it made sense when it finally all came together and was explained.  Having said that though, not having everything right out in the open from the beginning did not deter from the plot and it didn't make this book any less exciting. 

The romance is subtle, instead concentrating on Meadow and Zephyr's life and situations and how they were brought together and what they both end up fighting for. I liked that it wasn't the main focus of the story which so often happens in YA books these days.

This was a thrilling, wild ride unlike anything I have read and will sure to be one of the biggest hits in dystopian for 2014.  The ending left me wanting more and I really hope Cummings delivers with the sequel because I for one know, that I will be right there when it comes out, ready to pick it up and be right back in the world she created.










*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

30 comments:

  1. Those words from the blurb would pull just about anyone in, me included! I chose not to download this one, I don't even remember why, but I'm kind of regretting it now, especially because of the subtle romance. Off to see if it's still available!

    ReplyDelete
  2. YAAAAAAYYY! I'm starting this one next week, I'm so glad to see it got a 4.5 from you! I know I'm going to want explanations for certain things sooner as well, but I'm glad we at least get explanations at all. It seems like so often now we just sort of have to muddle through as best we can with no answers. Can't wait to read Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So glad you are starting this one Jenny. I can't wait to see what you think about it. I hope you love it too.

      Delete
  3. oh, a gritty dark book that isn't weird or bad, that's good :D glad you loved it hon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL, yeah, no weirdness here, well, at least not like we have been reading lately together. :P

      Delete
  4. I haven't seen this one. I am surprised that you picked up a blood soaked murder book, but now I a most curious. I must find out more!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL, yeah I do tend to shy away from these ones but it really wasn't all that gory.

      Delete
  5. This sounds great - I really do gravitate toward books like these! lol I'm glad you liked it so much. It sounds intense, but awesome.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you are able to try it then, I bet you would like it.

      Delete
  6. Love the premise of this one, and the cover is really great looking-adding it to my tbr list :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! Hope you are able to try it too.

      Delete
  7. I've got a review copy of this and I can't wait to read it now! I'm super excited for the action and to find out what happens. Glad you enjoyed this so much! Fab review :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Lauren! I hope you like it.

      Delete
  8. I must have this book!!!! AWESOME review :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I might be a bit confused in the beginning but I'm really curious about this one. I follow the author on instagram and have to admit that that has me even more curious!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I didn't know that Candace. I should look her up.

      Delete
  10. I have this one! Oh it better be good! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can't wait to see what you think about it Christy!

      Delete
  11. Glad to see you liked this one a lot, dear! My co-blogger didn't welcome it as kindly as you did (I'm sure you read Rashika's review? haha). I'm honestly not sure what to think about it yet, so I'm on the fence, but I'm happy to read insights from the other side of the fence! :)

    Faye @ The Social Potato Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I did and I can see why it wouldn't be for everyone. ;)

      Delete
  12. Great review, Ali. I've had my eye out for this book for a while now, and it's good to see that it my wanting is founded. :) I'm a bit worried about the delayed explanation of terminology, though. I hope it won't be too confusing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It will all make sense eventually. I hope if you try this one you like it. :)

      Delete
  13. Great review. That synopsis definitely grabs you. Adding this one to my list now.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really does, it was well written for sure.

      Delete
  14. The idea for this is really interesting. I originally wasn't sure if I wanted to read this or not, but now I definitely want to! The plot sounds exciting, although it does seem confusing that details surrounding The Murder Complex aren't explained for about half of the novel. I'm looking forward to reading this one :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really wasn't confusing so much as frustrating that I didn't know everything I wanted to know right away.

      Delete