Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Release Day Review: Sweet Damage by Rebecca James

Title: Sweet Damage
Author: Rebecca James
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Bantam (December 2, 2014)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: Psychological Thriller
My Rating: 4 Stars

Book Description
From the internationally bestselling author of Beautiful Malice comes a captivating novel of psychological suspense about love and friendship, loyalty and betrayal—perfect for readers of S. J. Watson and Lisa Unger.

Tim Ellison feels lucky when he finds a cheap place to rent in his dream location, close to the restaurant where he works as a chef, and even closer to his favorite surf spot at Sydney’s popular Manly Beach. But the cavernous house is infused with a sense of foreboding, and his furnished room there comes with a condition: He must look after the mansion’s mysterious owner.

Anna London is withdrawn and frail, a twenty-year-old with the inexplicable demeanor and habits of an elderly woman. From her grand home on the hill, she can see the city and the ocean, but she can never leave. Her anxieties keep her locked inside, unable to face the outside world.

As Tim settles in, he struggles to get to know the person who depends on him for food and care. Slowly, Anna reveals glimpses of herself—her history, her sadness, her crippling fears. And then strange things begin to happen: loud banging in the night, unexplained figures in the shadows, sinister messages on the walls. Tim is startled to find that even as his unease about the house grows, he is increasingly attracted to its hauntingly beautiful owner. But is Anna London someone to pity, someone to love, or someone to fear?

Taut and intense, Sweet Damage is an addictive novel about vulnerability, obsession, and duplicity, with a modern Gothic twist.












If there is one thing I have come to except from one of Rebecca's reads it is that it will completely mess with my mind and my emotions.

I never know what to think, who to trust, or even what in the world is really going on until the very end. 

Her reads are filled with the unexpected, the strange, and it makes you leery, distrustful, and down right anxious to know what will happen next,  eagerly turning the pages wanting more and dreading what will be next.

I love that they keep me guessing, keep me on my toes and on the edge of my seat, heart pounding and adrenaline pumping. 

I am not even going to tell you what this is about other than if you want a fun read full of stomach dropping twists and turns, pick up one of her books. You won't be sorry and you won't be disappointed. 




*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

42 comments:

  1. I love reading books that keep readers on suspense. It makes for a more engaging read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really does and I love the suspense of it all.

      Delete
  2. Ok, I have this thing about big old houses. Is it super weird that that house on the cover, plus the fact that you said this book will mess with my mind and emotions is enough to make me want to read it.

    The summary looks pretty great too, but seriously those two things are enough.

    How did I miss this one?

    Thanks for shaing a new book with me! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I can't remember the last time I read a psychological thriller Ali, I think I need to pick one up for sure! I love a book that messes with my mind and has me on the edge of my seat throughout. I think my mother in law and sister in law would love this too:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love a good one every now and then Jenny! :)

      Delete
  4. I love your description of this book, Ali. I love psychological thrillers and especially ones that leave me breathless. I might have to check this book out. It sounds too good to pass up!
    Lovely review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. She must be a good writer if you don't know what's going on, but it still makes sense. Must be a hard book to review though, because you can't say anything without risking spoilers. I don't think I've ever read a psychological thriller, I'll have to remember this author.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Her first book is still my favorite so I would start there with her work but this was just as good though!

      Delete
  6. OMG Kindlemom what an intense sounding read and the cover's got a great Gothic look too!
    Thanks

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does have a great look, I agree. :)

      Delete
  7. LOL, I love how you managed to make me interested and you haven't even reveal a single detail about the story.
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Well I love a book that messes with my head! This sounds fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are fun every now and then aren't they?

      Delete
  9. Lots of twists and turns and stuff to think about awesome, plus I love that it's a stand alone.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do too Heidi. I have been loving stand alone books a lot lately.

      Delete
  10. Oh this sounds good and I love when you really aren't a 100% sure of the players...adding to my list :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I hope you like it as much as I did!

      Delete
  11. Oh wow. That sounds pretty awesome. I love ones that have me feeling like that. Thanks for the heads up on her!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for stopping by and checking her out!

      Delete
  12. Ooh stomach dropping twists and turns? I'm so in! You have me so curious to read this one! Love this spoiler free review, and even without too many details I'm somehow still all excited to read it. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Omg, a book to mess with my mind and my emotions?? I want! You have such a way of making me wanna go book shopping spree, I swear... good thing it's the right season for it, lol!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I do love twists and turns in books. I may have to check this one out.

    ReplyDelete
  15. You had me at Psychological Thriller... oh and the review was great ;). BTW I got my books! THANKS!!!

    ReplyDelete
  16. It's been a while since I haven't read a good Thriller and this one sounds good! Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I do love a good thriller. This one sounds spooky as well, always a good thing! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Want to know how soon I had it figured out? lol! But seriously, yeah, this was better than I thought it would be. This was my first book by her, so I'm glad it worked out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You suck, but you know that I still love you. :P

      Delete
  19. This does sound good and you have definitely gotten me curious. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I love Gothic settings and giant, old house for a setting, so this may be a good choice for me! Glad you enjoyed it, with all the twists. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet you like this Kim, the setting was perfect for the story.

      Delete
  21. Awesome to know that it gave you a wild ride, dear! Those kind of books are simply the best! It's an exhilarating experience to be always on your toes. Can't remember when a book made me feel like that... oh wait! I did! Omega City haha. Check that out when you can!!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete