Monday, December 29, 2014

Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Title: All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Knopf (January 6, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 5 Stars!


Book Description:
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.










This is a book that sticks with you, forever in your thoughts and one that will forever be in your heart.

The characters felt real, alive, raw. They very essence was capture within the pages and breathed life into them.

It is happiness. It is sadness, it is anger, and it is almost everything else in between. 

This is the kind of book that is a complete challenge to review because you don't know exactly what to say because instead of talking about it, you are left still  feeling it. 

So many emotions and so many thoughts, words really don't compare, they don't live up to what you want to say and they don't come easy. For once I am at a loss as how to review a story. A story so heartfelt and strong, so stirring and emotional, that I have too much to say and not nearly enough to express them all.  

I smiled. I cried. I laughed and then I cried some more and just when I thought I couldn't cry anymore, just when I thought I was all done, I would start crying all over again. 

Is it possible to be both happy and sad at the same time? Is it possible to love the ending and to hate it as well?

Is it possible to reach through the very pages that moved me so much and snatch the characters out of them and hold them tight? To protect them from everything, including themselves? Because I want to, oh how I want to.

I felt and connected with Finch like I haven't to a character in a really long time. He was so darn good and pure but so very confused and sad and broken that his story, just about broke me. 

Violet was extraordinary in her own right, but Finch stole the show and consequently my heart along with it.

This is beautifully written and exceptionally heartwarming and achingly heartbreaking. It will build you up and then tear you down only to build you up again and leave you breathless in every way imaginable.

A tale of loss, love and living life to the fullest, however long that life may be and finding beauty in all the small things as well as the great. 








*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

46 comments:

  1. I've been reading lots of great things about this one. With all these emotions I'm definitely going to have to get this one! Kind of scared though. I know I will be crying!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tissues are a definite must with this one.

      Delete
  2. Oh wow, you are totally selling me this book and I never even heard of it before. OMG, the cries!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You must read it! Seriously best book in a really long time.

      Delete
  3. This sounds absolutely amazing Ali, but I'm a little cried out at the moment so I need something that's going to make me laugh. I'm keeping this on my list though because I definitely don't want to miss out on it. So glad it made you happy, sad and everything in between. Love those kind of books:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You definitely need to prepare yourself before beginning this. I honestly had no idea it would affect me as much as it did.

      Delete
  4. I'm so happy this book left you with so many feels! I've been hearing so many wonderful things about this author. I don't tend to read these, but I'm tempted to brave all those feels. Wonderful review!
    Hope you had a Merry Christmas :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Kim you too! And I definitely think this is one of those books that you make an exception for. ;)

      Delete
  5. wow I'm glad it touched you that way. So many things in this book, and I'm curious to discover all that now. Fantastic review! It's nice to end the year with a book like that.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are so right Melliane, I couldn't of asked for a better read!

      Delete
  6. I've heard nothing but amazing things about this book so far. I don't know if it's for me though. You know how I feel about emotional books since I'm not built for them. Still, I'm so glad you find such a memorable read with this.
    Lovely review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Nick, you definitely have the feels with this one. ;)

      Delete
  7. I've read good things about this book. I love books with so much feels and leaves that warm feeling after you finish it. Reading your review really makes me want this book. Great review! :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

    ReplyDelete
  8. I think this book has surprised many people and it's made me really want to read it! I'm a little afraid of all the emotions but it sounds like it's totally worth it :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. OOh thanks Kindlemom this sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The feels! It's been a long time since I read a book that had this same effect on me. Here's to hoping 2015 will be filled with books like this!

    ReplyDelete
  11. This is the most wonderfully amazing review! Thank you, thank you for each and every word! :) I'm so happy you loved the book, and I just so appreciate your sharing the feels with all your lovely readers. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I am so happy you were able to come and see it! Thank you for writing such a beautiful story.

      Delete
  12. Sounds like it will do really well but the "death" trend isn't my thing. Way too depressing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was super sad because of that but in a really good way if that makes any sense at all. :)

      Delete
  13. I'm reading this now and I think you nailed it in your review. I also agree that Finch stole (is stealing) the show. He is a character I'm truly connecting with like I haven't in a long time (just like you said). Absolutely loving this story!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I am so happy to hear you say that Candace, he really is fabulous. He is going to break your heart though!

      Delete
  14. I've seen so many rave about this one endlessly and I for one can't wait :) I'm glad to see that the YA Contemporary genre is getting more quality books. I used to avoid them before but now I seek them!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you will like this one Faye, definitely different in a really good way.

      Delete
  15. Oh wow, this sounds incredible!!! And I don't see you giving that many 5 stars either so that must mean something :D Will check if it's on NetGalley and, if it's not, then I'll patiently wait till it gets released ^^ Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  16. It sounds like a heartbreaker. :,( I'm oddly interested in it, anyway. Great review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I REALLY want to read this one. It sounds like the perfect read for me. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I just know you are going to love this.

      Delete
  18. This sounds incredible! Some of the best books are the ones that are the hardest to review, so I totally understand that. I think I'll definitely have to add this to my TBR for next month :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oh boy, I can't wait to have my heart ripped out! No, seriously, I can't. I wouldn't have even considered this from the cover.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh Christy, you are going to love this!

      Delete
  20. I was kinda scared to read this because they said fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell would love this. I hated their books so I really wanted to avoid this one, but your review made me doubt myself haha I do love heartwarming tales, I just hope so bad..that this won't disappoint me. Great review!

    www.lite-rate-ture.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet you like this even if you didn't like the other authors.

      Delete
  21. What a beautiful review, Ali. I saw this when I added it to a Friday Forecast, and I now I think I might have to read it, but I am going to have to get some courage. It took me years to read Fault in the Stars. I struggle so hard with these types of reads.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It did me too Heidi so I understand but I really do think you will like this.

      Delete
  22. wonderful review Ali, I love books that will do that, capture your emotions, leave you speechless. I think it's suppose to be the point for a lot of them!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is very true, they just don't all deliver as well as this one did sometimes I think.

      Delete
  23. Wonderful review. I don't know if I could take this or not. I still haven't read or watched The Fault in Our Stars. Sad books just drain me emotionally and leave me a mess.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was draining but in the best way possible!

      Delete