Monday, March 16, 2015

Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

Title: Lies I Told
Author: Michelle Zink
Series: Book One
Published By: HarperTeen (April 7, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Mystery
My Rating: 4 Stars


Book Description:
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told yourself?

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. 

But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines' biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught...including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.








What is it about a book involving spies that just makes it so darn appealing whether it be in the adult genre or the YA one?

Is it the nonstop drama and action we just know we are going to get? Or maybe all the deceit and danger lurking around every corner? Or maybe it is simply the appeal of being someone else for a very short amount of time, either way, they have always hooked me and called to.

And I couldn't of picked a better story to fall right into. I was intrigued after the prologue and hooked after the first few chapters. I just knew this was going to be a fun exciting ride and I was all prepared for it.

There are some characters that just after a few short pages, you just know you are going to like, relate to and most of all, connect with and Grace was that character for me.

Don't get me wrong, she made a lot of stupid mistakes and some that made me want to reach through he pages and shake some sense into her but overall, I liked her. Her struggle with dong what she needed to and what as right and most of all, her journey to discovering that maybe things weren't as great as she first thought they were. That maybe the life she leads, isn't so black and white anymore.

I really enjoyed where the story went and I loved Selena and Logan most of all. My only complaint was that incredible open ended ending. I mean, what. The. Heck?

There has to be a sequel somewhere on the horizon because the author couldn't have left it all out there like that. Too much, way too much, left undone. Too much happened at the end for that to be it.


I am so looking forward to book two and there dang well better be a book two. I need answers dang it!



*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review*

35 comments:

  1. Oooh spy book, it been a while since I read a review about one, sound like you enjoyed it and I think the thing that make this type of book so enjoyable is the mystery and the dark feeling around it or atleast that what I think :) Lovely Review

    ReplyDelete
  2. Interesting, I'd like to read this book. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. After watching Veronica Mars, I'm automatically on board for any book or movie with a character called Logan LOL.

    Seriously though, this sounds great and I LOVE a good spy story

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I miss Veronica! I wish it hadn't been cancelled. :(

      Delete
  4. Oh that is so true! I'm actually new to the spy-ish reads but lately I have been loving them! Most of the ones I've read have been historicals which just fascinate me. Sounds like an interesting read :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh a good historical one would be so much fun!

      Delete
  5. I was pretty sold on this one until you mentioned that ending Ali! I don't do well when things are left wide open unless I know for sure another book is in the works. JUST TELL ME WHAT HER FUTURE HOLDS IF THIS IS THE END OF THE LINE FOR US! I have my fingers crossed you get that book two!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am really hoping there is a book two and there just hasn't been anything posted on it yet. ;)

      Delete
  6. I heard about the open ending too so I took this off my TBR but I saw a sequel on an EW catalog to this book, so I think I'll give the book another shot. I enjoy spy books too and this sounds like it's well-written.
    Great review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh really? Yay! That makes me happy.

      Delete
  7. I love a good spy book - they're always filled with such great action and adventure. Plus, I love a faulty heroine that grows like Grace seems to do. Hmmm, darn the open ending though. Hopefully the next book will be out and answer those pesky questions left behind!
    Great review, Ali!

    (You had me laughing with your "I need answers Dang It" ) I hate that Lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha I know, it can be frustrating. :P

      Delete
  8. I get what you mean about spy books. They are so much fun to read. This does sound like a good one, despite the ending. Maybe when the second one comes out I will pick this one up.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Such an amazing premise! This one promises the whole deal - drama, unique characters and a world not often explored in YA fiction. I can't WAIT to get my hands on it! A very charming review :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am a sucker for a good mystery as well, but an open ending wihtout a sequel in sight. Dang it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I guess Nick saw a place for a sequel so yay!

      Delete
  11. I have always been a big fan of spy novels, especially in YA. Glad you enjoyed this, and I hope there is a sequel to satisfy your curiosity! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I like her adult PNR, I so want to try her YA. I heard it's really good & as this features spies & a YA at that, definitely adding this to the wishlist!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I so need to try her adult, I think I even have all the books. *sigh* Darn TBR pile.

      Delete
  13. Mystery, spies, family secrets..oh this sounds right up my alley Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL, I like what you did there. ;)

      Delete
  14. Oh yes it's a good mix here and it's great that you were hooked like that by the story. I don't think I knew about it. thanks for the discovery!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Maybe you will hear from the author about a sequel? I had that happen a couple of years ago when I was upset with an ending in a review. Glad you enjoyed it otherwise :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Maybe you will hear from the author about a sequel? I had that happen a couple of years ago when I was upset with an ending in a review. Glad you enjoyed it otherwise :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. I think I might like this one, the premise is intriguing - you have me sold on this on with your review xD <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete