Monday, March 23, 2015

Review: Perfect Timing by Robin Mellom

Title: Perfect Timing
Author: Robin Mellom
Series: Stand Alone 
Published: March 1, 2015
Source: Copy Provided by the Author (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Romantic Comedy
My Rating: 4 Stars!

Book Description:
After a break-up with her boyfriend, Tori Wright decides to get her mind off the guy and takes a job running errands for an eccentric couple. Suddenly she finds herself involved in the crazy world of LA nightlife--nightclubs, palm readers, movie stars, and a roving pack of paparazzi. After a misunderstanding lands her in jail, she has one night to clear her name, help a movie starlet avoid the paparazzi, and find Adam...the coworker who is quickly stealing her heart.
As she makes decisions that can change the course of her life, Tori discovers just how far she'll go to set the record straight.
But is she too late?
Perfect Timing is a charming romantic comedy that will have you wondering if true love can be found at the wrong time. It's a teen romance that will appeal to readers of New Adult contemporary romance and romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jenny B. Jones, Rainbow Rowell, and Sophie Kinsella.





I adored Robin's debut novel Ditched, it had me laughing constantly and then in tears the next moment but always, with a smile on my face. It had such a retro 80's John Hughes vibe to it that I couldn't help but love it. 

With a new novel coming out, I just knew it was something I needed to try. I promised myself I would read all of her YA books because I just had so much darn fun with the first one.

I am so excited to say that her second novel, Perfect Timing, did not disappoint. IT was every bit as fun, laugh inducing, heart melting, and smiling making, as the first. 

I immediately liked Tori and as soon as Adam was introduced, fell in love with his geeky shyness as well. I have said this before and I will say it every single time, it is so hard to not fall for the shy, nerdy type with a heart as sweet as can be.

 This was such a fun, quirky read that kept me turning the pages from the first to the last, satisfied with the way it all came about and ended. I am so very glad I found this author, she really does know how to write and she does it well with hijinks around every corner and a romance that is always sweet but subtle in it's own right and characters that are every bit as lovable as the plot is. 



*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by an outside source. I was not compensated for this review.

41 comments:

  1. It's great to see that you had so much fun again with a book by the author like that! I didn't know about her or I don't think so. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you give her work a try, it really is so much fun!

      Delete
  2. this book is new to me and it sound so good, I will make sure to check this book out, thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for stopping by and I am glad I got you curious about it. :)

      Delete
  3. Nice review I have to check this book out

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ah, this sounds so adorable! I love books that make you grin crazily, and Adam sounds so cute! Shy heroes are my favorites.<3

    ReplyDelete
  5. Light, funny novels make great beach reads! I'm putting this one on that particular list of mine :) Come on, summer! Great review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is so true Ramona, I couldn't agree more.

      Delete
  6. Aww! This sounds adorable, Ali! I love the sound of cute nerdy boy with a big heart!! :) I need to check this book out soon.
    Lovely review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sometimes a fun quirky read is exactly what I need! I'm adding this one to my TBR!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oooh, this sounds very sweet, and with a John Hughes vibe it must be ther perfect combo of humor and adorable romance! I'm so glad you enjoyed Perfect Timing.
    Great review, Ali! :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I think I need to read this. I am in a reading slump again, and I need something funny. I might have to grab DItched first. Hope you are having a lovely week. I will be in and out all week :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you will loved Ditched Heidi and this too, they are just fun.

      Delete
  10. Great review Ali and I'm a HUGE sucker for the nerdy type too!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. This sounds SO freaking adorable! Totally my kind of read!

    ReplyDelete
  12. We do have our go-to and trusted authors whose work well just gobble in a hot minute. So good you weren't disappointed.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh how I love me some humor. In all forms.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You would like this one, very sweet, funny and just fun.

      Delete
  14. Geeky shyness is my favorite :). This sounds so cute! Great review Ali

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Becca, you will love this!

      Delete
  15. Quirky is good! That's awesome her follow up was just as fun as the first :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. It does look like the characters are loveable! Geeks are cute :) Heeey, have you read Aritstotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe??

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No is that one I should read? I am all for lovable geeks!

      Delete
  17. I love these types of quirky romances that hold you till the last page. I am so glad you had such a good time with this one Ali

    ReplyDelete
  18. It sounds adorable and quirky! Happy it was good.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I have this in my TBR - I think I might like this one, it sounds like exactly what I would like in a romance. Fantastic review <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
  20. I always fall the for the shy, nerdy sweet type, so I'm sure I'm going to love Adam! I definitely need to pick this up (and Ditched). Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will definitely love Adam and Ditched too!

      Delete
  21. Its great review posting! sounds like very nice this review im sure this book writing is great pick this up like romance and fantastic review! safety diploma courses in chennai|Industrial safety engineering course in chennai|diploma in fire and safety courses in chennai|iosh managing safely institute|nebosh courses in chennaikeep posting thanks for sharing this posting!

    ReplyDelete