Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Blog Tour Book Review and Giveaway: Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne

I am so excited to be a part of this blog tour because I absolutely not only loved Trouble From the Start, but every book I have read by Hawthorne. They are just so much darn fun and perfect for spring/summer! 



Published By: Harper Teen (April 28, 2015)
Book Description:
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, Trouble from the Start is a sweet and romantic read about a good girl who falls for a bad boy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can't seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn't bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

A companion novel to Rachel Hawthorne's paperback original The Boyfriend Project, this title is perfect for fans of summer beach reads and sweet treats. 



*Amazon*B&N*Book Depository*iBooks*

About the Author:




Rachel Hawthorne, who also writes as Lorraine Heath and Jade Parker, is the daughter of a British beauty (her mother won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero-who played the Joker on the old Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Herts, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her "dual" nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan. She enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.


When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” She writes for both adult and young adult readers. She received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for Americana historicals. Her novels have been recognized with a RITA, Romance Writers of America’s most prestigious award for excellence, a HOLT medallion award honoring outstanding literary fiction, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award, five Texas Gold Awards, the Golden Quill Award, the Rising Star Award as well as other awards and recognitions. Her novels have been selections of the Doubleday and Rhapsody Book Club. Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times. 

Website


Tour Schedule:


Week 1:
Mon., 4/27 - The Irish Banana Review (Guest Post & Review)
Tues., 4/28 - My Guilty Obsession (Review)
Wed., 4/29 - FictionFare (Review)
Thurs., 4/30 - Swoony Boys Podcast (Q&A & Review)
Fri., 5/1 - Andi's ABCs (Guest Post)

Week 2:
Mon., 5/4 - Book Rocky Betty (Review)
Tues., 5/5 - Supernatural Snark (Q&A)
Wed., 5/6 - Reading W/ABC (Review)
Thurs., 5/7 - No BS Book Reviews (Q&A)
Fri., 5/8 - Gone With the Words (Review)



Rachel Hawthorne has always been my go to author for whenever I want a sweet and fun romance that is just perfect for anytime of the year. When I saw that she had a companion novel to the Boyfriend League I just knew I needed to read it.

And honestly, I got everything I was looking for in this simple, sweet read that wasn't only a lot of fun, but also had the right amount of realness and romance that made me come back for more. In fact, it was really hard to put down. I truly loved Fletcher and Avery and even now, days later, I still get a smile on my face when I think about them and their story. 

I adore reads like this one. I need them, I crave them, and I just can't get enough of them.

Hawthorne truly is one author that I will come back to time and time again simply because I know that she will give me a romance, a friendship, and a book with depth. Something just more than what others can give me. Something that can make me laugh, smile, and even bring tears to my eyes. 


This was wonderfully done and I am truly excited to get more from this author. If you haven't tried her, I highly recommend her if you are in the mood for something sweet that will just let you get away for a few hours and give you a satisfying ending when it is over. 







*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review. 




Open to US Residents Only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

42 comments:

  1. I haven't tried Rachel Hawthorne before, but now I know I need to! I am actually in need of a sweet and fun romance that will help me escape, so this sounds perfect. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This would be perfect for that Lauren!

      Delete
  2. I'll take your recommendations. This is the time of the year where I read a lot of contemporary romances & I always prefer the light, sweet, & cute ones.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really so too, something about the warmer weather just calls for it. ;)

      Delete
  3. I thought this was super cute too, Ali. I really enjoyed it. This was my first Rachel Hawthorne, but I'll have to check out more books by her since you praise her so much. :)
    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely check out more of her work, they are all fun and fabulous!

      Delete
  4. Lovely review! Thanks for being on the tour!!!! <3

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds super cute, Ali. I constantly have teens wanting more romance, especially with the good girl/bad boy kind. I'll have to order this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think they will love this and it is a very clean read too which is so nice!

      Delete
  6. I love books like this, but I haven't read anything by this author. I LOVE the sound of Trouble From the Start sounds soo cute! Thanks for sharing!

    Sarah @ One Curvy Blogger

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do too. They are so much fun when you just need a light relaxing read. ;) Thanks for stopping by!!

      Delete
  7. Word on the grapevine is that The Boyfriend Project is really good and I can't wait to try it myself. This one sounds yummy too! Really nice review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you love it Ramona and thanks!

      Delete
  8. It's been awhile since I have read something sweet, simple and fluffy, and I am always up for more reads like this one. I will have to add it to the ever growing pile.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Aww, I know I've been blah about YA lately, but it's different when you've already established the author as someone you can depend on for a good read. This sounds really cute.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So true and I do love those authors that I just know will have something terrific to read. ;)

      Delete
  10. I'm on a contemporary romance mood lately and I've been trying different types of contemporaries just to mix things up. This one sounds light and fun and I've never read anything from the author so I will definitely check it out, I love discovering new author. Lovely review Kindlemom!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Amir! I hope you try her and like her work.

      Delete
  11. Oh this sounds super cute and perfect for summer!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is perfect for this time of year!

      Delete
  12. I've never heard of this author before, but your enthusiasm is catching. i'll have to check her out one of these days!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You can always enter the giveaway and win a book. ;)

      Delete
  13. Awww, looks like this book brought out the feels from you! For me, that's awesome as it's a sign it's a really awesome book :) I'll have to check this out for myself!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love it when a story puts a smile on my face every time I think about it. Can't wait. :-)

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    ReplyDelete
  15. I've never read from this author before, and to be honest the synopsis is making me cringe, but based on your review, it does seem like something that is a lot better than it seems! I love contemporaries that have a little bit of depth, so I guess I'm adding this to my TBR! Fantastic review. :D

    ReplyDelete
  16. Well, now I am going to have to try her :). You need to quit adding to my TBR pile. I am sure it's all your fault...not my inability to click "add to good reads"...hehehe! Great review as always Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Becca and it's okay, I'll take all the blame. ;P

      Delete
  17. I know the name of the author, I know I've tried books from her but I don't remember which one, I'll have to investigate. In any case this one sounds really nice.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you have tried her at least, hopefully you liked her. ;)

      Delete
  18. Sometimes I wonder if I even read. I have not tried this author or any of the ones they reference her to. LOL. I am glad the companion novel delivered ..sometimes a sweet romance is just what I need. Lovely post Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Kim and I feel you, there are so many authors that are new to me that aren't really "new" so I get it. :)

      Delete
  19. This series sounds so cute! I've been wanting to read these and they seem perfect for when I'm looking for a light read. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They really are perfect for that! I hope you like them.

      Delete