Thursday, April 23, 2015

Review: The Replaced by Kimberly Derting

Title: The Replaced
Author: Kimberly Derting
Series: Book Two in the Taking Trilogy
Published By: Harper Teen (April 28, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Sci-fi/Fantasy 
My Rating: 4 Stars!


Book Description:
Romantic and action-packed, The Replaced is the gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy.

Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now, on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted—all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive but is in the hands of a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, Kyra knows it's a risk to go after him. What if it's a trap? And worse, what if the returned Tyler isn't the same boy she lost? 

Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series, The Replaced is both chilling and explosive, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills that will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.






When you love a first book so much, it is really hard not being excited about the sequel and even harder to not have high expectations for said sequel. Which is why I went into The Replaced with such hope that I would love it every bit as much as I did the first.

And while I did struggle a bit in the beginning with a slow start, I did end up loving this. Maybe not quite as much as the first book but overall I was once again thrown right into Kyra's crazy mixed up life of being on the run, worrying about those she left behind, info about the aliens themselves, and trying to get more information about what being a Returned means. 

Throw in a bunch of conspiracy, a love triangle (I know, I know, it didn't need to be there but some how it did add to the story), and more perplexing info on the Returned and you got one heck of a plot line, one that left me with more questions than answers and itching to get my hands on book three.

Overall I'm pretty happy with the way this turned out and it was a worthy sequel to the first.






*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

40 comments:

  1. sound really interesting, I will add this to my TBR!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Haven't read the first book yet, but I've heard good things and I intend to. Don't be too sad, you know that sequels are often not as good as those first books. It's a sad fact of life ... sigh. Excellent review - sweet, brief and to the point, just the way I like them :) Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was a bit lukewarm towards the first book, but the premise did intrigue me even though the romance with Tyler left me feeling a bit icked about it (I mean he's younger than her technically!!) but I'm happy to see a rather high rating for its sequel. Obviously not looking forward to that love triangle, but as long as she's certain who she really wants then I guess I could tolerate it haha

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah I wish it hadn't been there but I think it will be okay in the end.

      Delete
  4. I'm so pleased that the sequel was just as strong as the first book. I have the first book and I love how you get thrown in the deep end as if you never left the book/story at all. Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was nice about it. It jumped right where the other had left off for the most part.

      Delete
  5. At least it didn't turn into a filler book! I've read sequels that are like that, super disappointing

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not quite a filler book, lots of stiff was revealed so that was nice. ;)

      Delete
  6. I wasn't a fan of the first book, but I know a lot of people were. I'm glad you enjoyed this one so much, Ali. I have to admit that the mention of the love triangle was enough to have me running the other way.
    Lovely review, Ali!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I enjoyed the Taking so it makes me happy to see this was strong second book. I still need to pick it up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a pretty strong second, even with all the other stuff. ;)

      Delete
  8. Great review thanks for sharing Kindlemom!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I just finished this yesterday. I loved the twists and turned and I love the alien aspect of it all. The love triangle was a bit annoying but I just let it go. For the most part it was pretty great!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! Glad you agree Candace and liked it too!

      Delete
  10. I just don't know about this one. I am not ready for a love triangle.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't too bad as love triangles go. ;)

      Delete
  11. Oh love when I finish one and have those *grabby hands* for the next :D

    ReplyDelete
  12. I just bought The Taking on Itunes the other day to listen to. Now I have to get this one as well. I am excited to start the series :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ack. Love triangle. Please noo... Glad you loved it, nonetheless!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Sci-fi is a tricky genre for me but it's nice to see tht despite a slow start you had a good time with the book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It usually is for me as well but this isn't bad at all.

      Delete
  15. I really liked The Taking so I'm looking forward to this one too. Glad to see it didn't disappoint. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I still need to read the first book. But I hate to hear the beginning is slow. So stupid to start a sequel like that.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree. ;) But it did pick up and was really good by the end.

      Delete
  17. Sci Fi books aren't really my thing, but glad that you loved the first book. Sometimes sequels aren't as great as the first book, which usually ruins series for me, but good to know you still enjoyed this despite the slow start. :D

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They usually aren't mine either but I'm really liking this so far.

      Delete
  18. I think I read the first book due to your review, and I loved it and gave it 5 stars, I can't wait to read this one. So glad you liked it! Thanks :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay I'm so happy to hear you say that!!

      Delete
  19. The Taking sounds amazing, but I've seen a few reviews that state this one isn't as good as the first. I'm glad it's still enjoyable, though! I'm wary about the love triangle, but I'm still excited to read this series. Awesome review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't quite as good but still a good read for sure.

      Delete
  20. This definitely sounds right up my alley!!! I will definitely check out the first book in series!!

    ReplyDelete