Thursday, April 9, 2015

Review: The Secrets of Attraction by Robin Constantine

Title: The Secrets of Attraction
Author: Robin Constantine
Series: Stand Alone 
Published By: Balzer & Bray (April 28, 2015)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
My Rating: 4 Stars


Book Description:
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut novel follows two New Jersey teens as they become friends and fall in love. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Mlynowski, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Madison Pryce thinks she's got everything figured out—she's working on a portfolio for a summer art program and hanging with her friends. Plus she has her hot boyfriend, Zach. But then a visit from a family friend turns Maddie's life upside down.

Jesse McMann is still reeling from a breakup that shattered his heart and his band. Then pride (and some goading from his bass player and fellow barista) forces him to find a new drummer—and the inspiration to write music again.

Kismet arrives in the unlikely form of Grayson Barrett, who tries out for Jesse's band, and whose girlfriend is BFFs with the cute girl who orders a chai latte after yoga every Thursday: Maddie. What Jesse and Maddie thought they knew about the secrets of attraction and the rules of romance changes once they start falling for each other.




I really enjoyed Constantine's debut novel last year and I was hoping that this second edition set in the same world, would be just as much fun as the original and the good news is that, it was. In fact, I liked this even better than the first.

Jesse and Madison where just...I don't know, endearing maybe. I liked them from the get go and even though I didn't always agree with the way Madison treated Zach, I still loved her and understood what she was going through.

The very fact that we still got Gray and Wren from the first book (who I actually like even more now), and some new additions as well (Tanner!), I am really loving Constantine's writing and stories and she completely sold me on her work.

This was such a fun endearing read that kept a smile on my face the whole way through. I just loved Jesse and Madison together, their friendship, their spark, and the way they worked together to get through some difficult things in their lives. They just worked well together, and come on now, who doesn't love a hottie in a rock and roll band?

I am seriously hoping Constantine visits this world again in her next book and gives us more of Jazz ad Tanner. I would just love to see them together. 







*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*

36 comments:

  1. I didn't read the first book, but I'm glad to hear you liked this one even better! Do you think I could start with this one, or would I be missing too much?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You could definitely start this and be just fine.

      Delete
  2. So glad you enjoyed this, Ali! I really liked her first book, but this was even better. I thought the two of them were so adorable. I loved seeing Wren and Gray again too! They are too cute for words! :)
    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay for books that make you smile Ali! I'm on a happy book binge at the moment, only reading things that will leave me with a dopey grin on my face. Glad I can add this one to the pile! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You just need books like this, sometimes in big doses. ;)

      Delete
  4. This sounds sweet, cute, and easy reading.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't read The Promise Of Amazing, though I can certainly see the potential in this world just from pressing the blurb and your review. I'm not sure which book I should try first - help? :) Excellent review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should probably read them in order but I definitely liked this one better so I want to say this one instead LOL!

      Delete
  6. I don't know that I'm a fan of any of those authors mentioned in the description, but this looks absolutely adorable. I'm reading a lot of romance lately, I should probably find the time for a book that made you smile.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really like companion novels; it's fun to see a book from secondhand characters. That's awesome you liked this one even more than the first too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do too for the same reasons. :)

      Delete
  8. Oh I'm so needing some good summery reads! This sounds adorable!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hi Ali, I'm a new follower and found your blog on Candace's Book Blog. My students are always clamoring for good romance novels and they've breezed through all of my recommendations so far. I'll add this to my order list as it sounds super cute and something they would enjoy. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much for following!!!

      Delete
  10. I could use a sweet endearing little read right now. I am recovering from company, a cold and an internet outage. I should be back full by Monday! Thanks for stopping by my blog while I was absent :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That is a lot ot take Heidi! I hope you feel better soon. :)

      Delete
  11. I like it when couples work together through hard times ;) It always makes their relationships so much more endearing!

    I am glad you enjoyed this one, Ali! :)

    Rashika @ The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh I completely forgot about this one!! Wasn't a priority ahha because of the cheesy cover but I think I'd like to read it when in the right mood :)) Lovely review, Ali!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a fun light read for sure. I hope you do read it and that you like it. :)

      Delete
  13. Jesse and Madison sound fantastic and I love that it was more then just sparks. It is always so wonderful when book two exceeds your expectations. Sounds like you have a new author to add to your favorites list.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I am a little confused. It says it's a stand alone..but you are taking about characters from another book....It sounds like a great book though!!! Great review Ali!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It can be read as a stand alone but it takes place in the same world as the first book so it shows some of the same characters. ;)

      Delete
  15. I love, love, love when authors do this! When they create such a fun world where there is more than one love story. It helps me get more involved with the characters, more connected with them; especially when I can see old characters after their story ends in the newer books. Thanks for putting this on my radar :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Natalie! I hope you read and love this!!

      Delete
  16. This sounds like a cute, fluffy read - I could use a light read after my intense reading.. wonderful review<3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean, I need these every now and then too. :)

      Delete
  17. Another YA romance I need to pick up! I'm very leery towards the genre because I don't usually like the characters' personalities. But this sounds really good. Might pick this up if I need a quick, light read. :)

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Some are definitely better than others. ;)

      Delete