Friday, December 20, 2013

Review: The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

Title: The Lost Boys
Author: Lilian Carmine
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Ebury Press (October 24, 2013)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Paranormal
My Rating: 2 Stars

Book Description:
An intensely addictive romance novel about girls, ghosts, and forbidden love, ideal for fans of Stephenie Meyer
 Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, 17-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home. But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard. Perfect for fans of Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Kate, The Lost Boys is a magical, romantic tale of girl meets ghost.

I admit, I picked this one up because I really liked the cover. The soft shades of blue are very appealing and once I saw all the rave reviews on Goodreads from when this was on Wattpad, I couldn't resist, I had to see what all the fuss was about.

I know, I know, why do that to myself? Haven't I learned by now that I should avoid all those pesky gorgeous books that are all the buzz? Haven't I been burned enough in the past to know better?

Apparently not because I picked this right up, without even hesitating. I mean really, this is a ghost story and I do love a good ghost story.

Too bad this never turned out to be the read I was hoping for. I was never drawn into the story and could never connect with the characters or storyline at all. Things moved too quickly for my liking with trusting one another and falling in love. Even the mom's absolute trust and acceptance in everything was a little baffling to me and slightly unbelievable from a parent stand point.

The writing felt immature and overly done. This was a pretty long story that I think could have been cut in half and still held all the meat it needed to to make it substantial.

Sadly this one just never wowed me. 

I think with some very fine tuning and tweaking this could be a fantastic story that could live up to all the 4 and 5 star reviews and that pretty cover, but as it, it just didn't do it for me. 

*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*


  1. It always makes me laugh when I still get drawn in by a gorgeous cover only to find the story doesn't quite live up to the beauty of its packaging. Despite learning that particular lesson over and over again, I still keep right on picking up books based on their covers O.o Glad I'm not alone in that Ali! Too bad on the writing feeling immature, I always find myself disconnecting from stories when that happens. Hope whatever you read next is amazing!

  2. oh no :( I hate when that happens. I been suckered in by beautiful covers and rave reviews before as well. Disappointing to hear that you were unable to connect with the characters and that the story moved too fast. Considering it does sound like it could have had potential.

  3. Thanks guys, glad to know I am not the only one that still gets sucked in every now and then. :P

  4. I have been burned by cover lust before too. I am sorry this never clicked for you. I'd like to tell you that you've learned your lesson but you will do it again! Those covers get ya every time!

  5. Yeah, covers do that to people. I agree this is a pretty cover. And the fact that it's about ghosts would probably have had me trying it to. I'm glad I saw your review first, I'll skip it now!

  6. I wish I could count the number of times I was drawn in by a cover and disappointed. I am trying to learn from my mistakes and not repeat.

  7. I've been VERY curious about this book. I was initially drawn in by the cover too, but I also liked the premise. It's a shame that it didn't quite work for you. I usually like my relationships to develop slowly and for details not to be easily glossed over or accepted, so I have to wonder if this will work for me now. I hope your next read is better, Ali. Thanks for the helpful review!

  8. Thanks for the honest review. I pick up a lot of books because I like the cover to. I even like the title of this one. I am glad to read your review before I got it though.

  9. Rah-roh! I contemplated picking this one up. So glad I didn't. Thanks for taking the bullet, I don't have to read it now. :D

  10. It's always sad to see promising books that only get below 3 ratings. But sometimes, covers are deceiving! Too bad this didn't work for you.