Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Title: Goodbye, Rebel Blue
Author: Shelley Coriell
Series: Stand Alone
Published By: Amulet Books (October 1, 2013)
Source: ARC Copy Provided by the Publisher (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA Contemporary
My Rating: 4.5 Stars!

Book Description:
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

My Thoughts and Review:
Have you ever meet those protagonists that are so snarky, so filled with attitude that for some reason only you can decipher, you instantly fall in love with them just for the plain reason that they feel so real to you that you can't help but like them? 

Enter, Rebel. If her name wasn't a big enough hint as to the type of person she is, then the description above should have been. She is everything I love in a good protagonist. And her story begins in study hall, with an assignment to write out a bucket list and a girl named Kennedy Green who changed everything.

This was such a great story. Rebel is such a great story. Her secret fears, her life, her attitude, her goodness, her heart. If ever I have read a coming of age story that made me fall in love with the main character faster, I can't recall it or the character. 

I read a lot of YA and this one really did stand out. Without sounding too cheesy, it called to me and I could totally relate to Rebel even though we are nothing alike and my heart went out to her. Sometimes self discovery is hard and painful not an easy road but I have to give Rebel credit, she took it like a champ and she stretched and grew and it was beautiful.

Coriell managed to create a character that was strong, determined, feisty, snarky and filled with attitude. But one that was still soft enough to discover the goodness around her and all that she had been missing from hardening her heart from those that cared about her. She learned to be herself but to be a better self without losing anything that made her Rebel and that is such a beautiful message for anyone and one for everyone.

“You don't need anyone to make it in this world, the power to be extraordinary comes from within.” 

*All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the author or publisher. I was not compensated for this review.*


  1. I have seen this book around and was really intrigued by it! I can see now that I must read it. Rebel sounds like a great character and story itself sounds so good. Glad you liked it. Great review :)

  2. Oh, yes, I simply adore these types of characters, I know exactly what you're talking about. It happens rarely, but it does happen that I connect with someone even though we're nothing alike and that I thoroughly enjoy snark.
    Fabulous review, I can't wait to read this.

  3. Awesome review. This is new to me and Rebel sounds like a character I would love to get to know. Adding it to my list now.

  4. Thanks everyone, she really was a fantastic character!

  5. Oh it's always great when you can connect with a main character almost instantly. Particularly if you don't have much in common in the first place. I love the sound of Rebel! I haven't actually considered reading this book too much, but you have me very curious about it now. I'm glad it worked for you, sweet. Lovely review! :)

  6. thanks Sam and if you do like this genre, I would definitely recommend this one!

  7. I adore snarky heroines and I think I would love Rebel. I haven't seen this one before today and I am most curious about it!

  8. Gosh, I really want to read this one..I so love the sound of the protagonist and reviews have all been 4-5's for this glad it rocked for you!

  9. Kim I think it is because no one can resist liking Rebel!!

  10. Wow Rebel sounds like exactly the kind of character I would totally develop a friend crush on! :-) I adore snark and love it when a character operates on a totally different wavelength than everyone else. Those are the ones I remember, books later. SO happy to read your review and I just bought a copy. Thanks! :-)

  11. Oh I'm SO excited to read this one! I have it on my review pile and since it's about to come out it'll likely be my next read. Can't wait!

  12. The fact that this one stood out given the number of YA books we all read is a huge compliment Ali, I definitely need to add it to my list. Rebel sounds like my kind of girl 100%, and I just can't wait to meet her and her snarky attitude. I'm glad that attitude isn't all there is though and that we get to see a little softness too. Beautiful review!

  13. Thank you Jenny! I think she is someone that you would really love too. :)

  14. Heh - Rebel sounds like my kinda character! I don't think I've even heard of this book until now, so yay for a new discovery.

  15. I KNOW you would love her Christy!